SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF TECHNICAL EDUCATION MINUTES OF THE MARCH 27, 2025, REGULAR MEETING

TELECONFERENCE

An audio recording of this meeting can be electronically accessed through the South Dakota Public Broadcasting's (SDPB) Stream Archive. The below timestamps are aligned with SDPB's audio stream, which can be accessed at: https://sdpb.sd.gov/streamarchive/bote03272025.mp3

1. Call to Order and Roll Call (0:07)

The South Dakota Board of Technical Education (hereinafter referred to as "BOTE") met on March 27, 2025, via teleconference. Board President Dana J. Dykhouse called the meeting to order at approximately 10:00 AM (CST) with the following members present: Doug Ekeren, Dennis Law, Joy Nelson, Terry Sabers, Brian Sandvig, Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, Jamie Stucky. The following member was absent: Brad Greenway.

Also present:

Nick Wendell, Executive Director, BOTE

Jenna Reis, Policy & Data Analyst, BOTE

Tiffany Sanderson, President, Lake Area Technical College (LATC)

Cam Corey, Vice President, LATC

Theresa Kriese, Interim President, Mitchell Technical College (MTC)

Dr. Cory Clasemann, President, Southeast Technical College (STC)

Dr. Steve Willard, Acting President, Western Dakota Technical College (WDTC)

Christine Goldsmith, Vice President for Finance and Operations, WDTC

Grace Beck, Policy Advisor and Lobbyist, Redstone Law Firm

Additional representatives from the technical colleges, local governing boards, public, and media.

2. Adoption of the Agenda (2:10)

Motion made by Sabers and seconded by Sandvig to adopt the proposed agenda, as presented in Attachment #1.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Ekeren, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, Stucky.

Motion carried.

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes (2:52)

A. Action: December 10, 2024

Motion made by Nelson and seconded by Ekeren to approve the meeting minutes, as presented in Attachment #2.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Ekeren, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, Stucky.

Motion carried.

4. Declaration of Conflicts (3:39)

Per SDCL 3-23-10, state boards and commissions are required to publicly address the expectations regarding annual disclosures and waivers. No BOTE members submitted new declarations of conflicts.

SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF TECHNICAL EDUCATION MINUTES OF THE MARCH 27, 2025, REGULAR MEETING

5. Public Comment (4:04)

Dykhouse opened the floor to public comment; no comments were made

6. Reports (4:21)

A. Informational: Executive Director, Nick Wendell

Wendell presented the executive director update.

7. Governance and Policy (5:19)

A. Informational: 2025 Legislative Session Review

Beck and Executive Director Wendell reviewed the 2025 Legislative Session.

8. Finance and Management (18:42)

A. Action: FY26 Tuition and Fee Setting Proposal

Wendell provided an overview of the FY26 Tuition and Fee Setting Proposal, as presented in Attachment #3.

Motion made by Sandvig and seconded by Nelson to approve the FY26 Tuition and Fee Setting Proposal.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Ekeren, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, Stucky.

Motion carried.

9. Institutional Effectiveness (37:23)

A. Informational: Spring 2025 Enrollment Report

Reis overviewed the Spring 2025 Enrollment Report, as presented in Attachment #4.

10. Academic Affairs (39:57)

A. Non-Substantive Program Applications (BP 303.3)

I. Informational: LATC: AAS: Aviation Maintenance Technology

President Sanderson provided an overview of the non-substantive program application, as presented in Attachment #5.

B. Substantive Program Applications (BP 303.2)

I. Action: LATC: AAS: Natural Resource Management

President Sanderson provided an overview of the substantive program application, as presented in <u>Attachment #6.</u>

Motion made by Schallenkamp and seconded by Ekeren to approve the substantive program application.

SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF TECHNICAL EDUCATION MINUTES OF THE MARCH 27, 2025, REGULAR MEETING

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Ekeren, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, Stucky.

Motion carried.

11. Campus Updates (48:38)

A. Informational: Technical College President Reports

Presidents Sanderson (LATC), Kriese (MTC), Clasemann (STC), and Willard (WDTC) provided technical college president reports, as presented in Attachment #7.

12. Adjournment (01:09:21)

Motion made by Sabers and seconded by Schallenkamp to adjourn the meeting.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Ekeren, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, Stucky.

Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 11:10 AM (CST).

Approved: May 22, 2025