# SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF TECHNICAL EDUCATION MINUTES OF THE OCTOBER 17, 2024, REGULAR MEETING

Mitchell Technical College Muth Electric Technology Center – Amphitheater 1800 E Spruce St., Mitchell, SD 57301

An audio recording of this meeting can be electronically accessed through the South Dakota Public Broadcasting's (SDPB) Stream Archive. The below timestamps are aligned with SDPB's audio stream, which can be accessed at: https://sdpb.sd.gov/streamarchive/bote10172024.mp3

## 1. Call to Order and Roll Call (0:06)

President Dana J. Dykhouse called the meeting to order at approximately 1:00 p.m. (CST) with the following members present: Brad Greenway, Dennis Law, Joy Nelson, Terry Sabers, Brian Sandvig and Dr. Kay Schallenkamp. The following members were absent: Doug Ekeren and Diana VanderWoude.

Also present:

Nick Wendell, Executive Director, BOTE

Scott DesLauriers, Deputy Director, BOTE

Jenna Reis, Policy & Data Analyst, BOTE

Tiffany Sanderson, President, Lake Area Technical College (LATC)

Mark Wilson, President, Mitchell Technical College (MTC)

Dr. Cory Clasemann, President, Southeast Technical College (STC)

Christine Goldsmith, Acting President, Western Dakota Technical College (WDTC)

Dr. Steve Willard, WDTC Board of Trustees

Additional representatives from the technical colleges, local governing boards, public, and media.

## 2. Adoption of the Agenda (2:14)

Motion made by Sabers and seconded by Greenway to adopt the proposed agenda, as presented in Attachment #1.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, and Schallenkamp.

Motion carried.

## 3. Approval of Meeting Minutes (3:03)

# A. Action: July, 25, 2024

Motion made by Greenway and seconded by Nelson to adopt the minutes from the July 25, 2024, regular meeting, as presented in <a href="Attachment#2">Attachment #2</a>.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, and Schallenkamp.

Motion carried.

#### 4. Declaration of Conflicts (3:48)

Per SDCL 3-23-10, state boards and commissions are required to publicly address the expectations regarding annual disclosures and waivers. No BOTE members submitted new declarations of conflicts.

## 5. Public Comment (4:14)

Dykhouse opened the floor to public comment.

Dr. Steve Willard (WDTC Board of Trustees) addressed the group.

## 6. Reports (6:18)

### A. Informational: Executive Director, Nick Wendell

Wendell presented the executive director update.

## 7. Institutional Effectiveness (10:09)

# A. Informational: Fall 2024 Enrollment Report

Reis overviewed the Fall 2024 Enrollment Report, as presented in Attachment #3.

## 8. Academic Affairs (15:09)

# A. Substantive Program Application(s)

## I. Action: LATC: L-CERT: Uncrewed Aerial Systems (Drones)

Motion made by Nelson and seconded by Law to approve the substantive program application, as presented in <a href="https://example.com/Attachment#4.">Attachment #4.</a>

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, and Schallenkamp.

Motion carried.

#### B. Additional Location or Branch Campus Application(s)

## I. Action: STC: South Dakota State Penitentiary (Sioux Falls, SD)

Motion made by Sabers and seconded by Greenway to approve the additional location or branch campus application, as presented in <a href="https://example.com/Attachment#5">Attachment #5</a>.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, and Schallenkamp.

Motion carried.

## 9. Campus Updates (21:17)

# A. Informational: Technical College President Reports

Sanderson (LATC), Wilson (MTC), Clasemann (STC), and Goldsmith (WDTC) provided technical college president reports, as presented in Attachment #6.

# 10. Adjournment (37:14)

Motion made by Law and seconded by Sabers to adjourn the meeting.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, and Schallenkamp.

Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 1:38 p.m. (CST).