Southeast Technical College The HUB 2001 N. Career Ave. Sioux Falls, SD 57107

An audio recording of this meeting can be electronically accessed through the South Dakota Public Broadcasting's (SDPB) Stream Archive. The below timestamps are aligned with SDPB's audio stream, which can be accessed at: https://sdpb.sd.gov/streamarchive/bote07252024.mp3.

1. Call to Order and Roll Call (0:17)

President Dana J. Dykhouse called the meeting to order at approximately 1:00 p.m. (CST) with the following members present: Doug Ekeren, Brad Greenway, Joy Nelson, Terry Sabers, Brian Sandvig, Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, and Diana VanderWoude. One member was absent: Dennis Law.

Also present:

Nick Wendell, Executive Director, BOTE

Scott DesLauriers, Deputy Director, BOTE

Jenna Reis, Policy & Data Analyst, BOTE

Tiffany Sanderson, President, Lake Area Technical College (LATC)

Tracy Buisker, Foundation Executive Director (LATC)

Mark Wilson, President, Mitchell Technical College (MTC)

Dr. Cory Clasemann, President, Southeast Technical College (STC)

Dr. Benjamin Valdez, Vice President of Academic Affairs (STC)

Jackie Pommer, Director of IE and Associate Dean of Faculty Development (STC)

Nick Schneider, Associate Dean of Curriculum and Instruction (STC)

Dr. Ann Bolman, President, Western Dakota Technical College (WDTC)

Grace Beck, Policy Advisor and Lobbyist, Redstone Law Firm

Gail Swenson, Sioux Falls School Board

Grant Judson, Budget Analyst, Bureau of Finance and Management

Additional representatives from the technical colleges, local governing boards, public, and media.

2. Adoption of the Agenda (2:29)

Motion made by Nelson and seconded by Greenway to adopt the proposed agenda, as presented in Attachment #1.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes (3:20)

A. Action: May 23, 2024

Motion made by Sabers and seconded by Greenway to adopt the minutes from the May 23, 2024, regular meeting, as presented in Attachment #2.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

4. Declaration of Conflicts (3:48)

Per SDCL 3-23-10, state boards and commissions are required to publicly address the expectations regarding annual disclosures and waivers. No BOTE members submitted new declarations of conflicts.

Approved: October 17, 2024

5. Public Comment (4:09)

Dykhouse opened the floor to public comment, though none was present.

6. Reports (4:29)

A. Informational: Executive Director, Nick Wendell

Wendell presented the executive director update.

7. Governance and Policy (4:35)

A. Action: Approval of Performance Indictors

Wendell overviewed the Performance Indicators.

Motion made by Ekeren and seconded by Sandvig to approve the Performance Indictors, as presented in Attachment #3.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

8. Finance and Management (23:56)

A. Action: FY26 Budget Request

Wendell overviewed the FY26 Budget Request.

Motion made by Sandvig and seconded by Nelson to approve the FY26 Budget Request, as presented in <u>Attachment #4</u>.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

9. Institutional Effectiveness (45:58)

A. Informational: Summer 2024 Enrollment Report

Reis overviewed the Summer 2024 Enrollment Report, as presented in Attachment #5.

10. Campus Updates (48:01)

A. Informational: Technical College President Reports

Sanderson (LATC), Wilson (MTC), Clasemann (STC), and Bolman (WDTC) provided technical college president reports, as presented in Attachment#6.

11. Adjournment (1:18:03)

Motion made by Sabers and seconded by Schallenkamp to adjourn the meeting.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 2:20 p.m. (CST).

Approved: October 17, 2024