South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council Board Meeting Minutes Friday, June 14th, 2024 9:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. ACE Board Room – 5000 S. Broadband Lane, Suite 224 Sioux Falls, SD 57108

Present: David Struck, Chairman; David Iverson, Vice Chairman; Todd Hanten, Treasurer; Heather Beaner, Secretary; Mike McCranie, Dawn Scheier, and Bruce Haines

Staff Present: Jerry Schmitz, Executive Director; Becky Cypher, Executive Assistant; Paul Van Sloten, Accounting Manager; Mariah Kessler, Communications Director; Maggie Vander Laan, Communications Specialist; Johnna Ringkob, Market Development & Research Director; and Danielle Dykstra, Administrative Assistant

Guests Present: Mark Berg, Contractor

Absent: Todd Hanten, Treasurer; Derrick Scott; and John Horter

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Struck led the board in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Call to Order – David Struck Chairman Struck called the meeting to order at 8:57 a.m.

Approval of Agenda – David Struck Motion: Heather Beaner moved to approve the agenda. Seconded by Bruce Haines. Motion passed unanimously.

Conflict of Interest Disclosures – David Struck

Distribute Annual Conflict of Interest Forms Chairman Struck asked board members to declare any new conflicts. None received. Board members were also given FY25 annual Conflict of Interest Forms to complete.

Secretary's Report – Heather Beaner

Approve the minutes from the April 4, 2024 Board Meeting Approve the minutes from the April 5, 2024 Board Meeting Approve the minutes from the April 11, 2024 Board Meeting

Heather said the meeting minutes are in the e-folder to review and stated no changes needed to be made.

Motion:

Mike McCranie moved to approve the meeting minutes from the April 4, April 5, and April 11, 2024 board meetings. Seconded by Dawn Scheier. Motion passed unanimously.

Treasurer's Report – David Iverson, Acting Treasurer

Review Financials

David Iverson acted as treasurer in Todd's absence. He said Todd is traveling and conversed with Paul prior to the meeting. Paul reviewed financials with the board members.

Motion:

Heather Beaner moved to accept the treasurer's report as presented. Seconded by Dawn Scheier. Motion passed unanimously.

Eide Bailly Audit – 2024 proposal

Jerry said Eide Bailly quoted us \$23,500 for this year's financial audit.

Motion:

Bruce Haines moved to engage Eide Bailly for this year's financial audit in the amount of \$23,500. Seconded by David Iverson. Motion passed unanimously.

USSEC Credit – Dawn Scheier

Dawn said she has a flight credit in the amount of \$12,000 in her personal airline account. She booked a trip to India for USSEC since the credit expired this week. She's going to the Soy Excellence Center and the flight credit will pay for the flight; however she's asking SDSRPC to pay for the hotels and the flight from Vietnam to India.

Motion:

David Iverson moved to fund Dawn Scheier's Soy Excellence Center travel costs up to \$5,000. Seconded by Bruce Haines.

Motion passed unanimously.

AGP Presentation – Jarrett Johnson, Merchandiser (via Zoom)

Jarrett Johnson introduced himself and said he's the main merchandiser for the Aberdeen plant. He gave an update on the Aberdeen plant and answered board member's questions.

SD Soybean Processors Update – Tom Kersting, SD Soybean Processors

Tom Kersting gave an update on the Mitchell plant. The plant is called High Plains Processing which is a separate company from SD Soybean Processors. Operations are scheduled to begin in the fall of 2025. Tom thanked the Council for their support of the project.

SDSRPC Director Election Certification

David Struck was elected to District 5, Chad Schooley was elected to District 6, and April Bowar was elected to District 9.

Motion:

Dawn Scheier moved to certify the election for Districts 5, 6, and 9. Seconded by Mike McCranie. Motion passed unanimously.

SDARL Update – Mariah Kessler

Mariah gave an overview of the program and sessions she's attended so far. She also shared a bit about what's coming up for the class.

Communications Director Report – Mariah Kessler Communications Specialist Report – Maggie VanderLaan Market Development & Research Director Report – Johnna Ringkob Accounting Manager Report – Paul Van Sloten Administrative Assistant Report – Danielle Dykstra Executive Assistant Report – Becky Cypher Executive Director Report – Jerry Schmitz

SDSU Project Extension Request Motion: David Iverson moved to approve the no cost extension of the FY24 project titled "Continued Deployment of Biofumigant and Soybean Symbtiotic Analysis". Seconded by Dawn Scheier. Motion passed unanimously.

AgOutlook Visionary Leadership Award Recipients for the 2024 Visionary Leadership Award were discussed.

Motion:

Mike McCranie moved to select Peter Mishek as the 2024 Visionary Leadership Award recipient. Seconded by Bruce Haines. Motion passed unanimously.

City of Sioux Falls Biofuel Incentive

The City of Sioux Falls is using B20, but they don't want to promote it in a press release, etc. It has been suggested that in the future, the Council budget this line item for municipalities looking to partner and promote, not make it specific to Sioux Falls. The board has agreed to leave the \$30,000 for this line item.

Per Diem Policy

Jerry said the State of South Dakota increased State Board per diem from \$60/day to \$166/day, so the Council may update their policy to reflect the change.

Motion:

Heather Beaner moved to update the Council's per diem policy according to the State of South Dakota's recommendation from \$60/day to \$166/day. Seconded by Bruce Haines. Motion passed unanimously.

Complete Annual Conflict of Interest Forms

The board members completed their annual Conflict of Interest Forms and returned the forms to Becky.

Board Member Organizational Reports

INVOCATION | LUNCH – David Struck

USB Director Reports

Executive Session Proposed FY25 Overhead

Motion: Heather Beaner moved to enter into executive session to discuss personnel and contracts at 12:38 p.m. Seconded by Mike McCranie. Motion passed unanimously.

Dawn Scheier left the meeting from 12:53 p.m. – 1:08 p.m.

Chairman Struck declared the board out of executive session at 1:08 p.m.

FY25 Budget Review Motion: Bruce Haines moved to budget \$803,063.09 for FY25 salary and benefits. Seconded by Mike McCranie. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion:

David Iverson moved to approve the FY25 operating budget in the amount of \$9,894,970. Seconded by Bruce Haines. Motion passed unanimously.

Public Input Chairman Struck called for public input at 2:14 p.m. None received.

Other Items Executive Director Jerry Schmitz gave an update on recent meetings he has attended.

Heather Beaner thanked everyone for her time on the board. She said she will miss us and thanked the Council for the last five years.

Adjourn Motion: Mike McCranie moved to adjourn the meeting at 2:20 p.m. Seconded by Bruce Haines. Motion passed unanimously.