Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship Board Meeting

February 22, 20234

February 22, 2024 10:00 AM CST

Teleconference

Board Members Present:

- Dr. Steve Willard Vice President
- Dr. Anna Schwan
- Dr. Kay Schallenkamp

- Dr. Joseph Graves
- Pat Mikkonen

BOR Support Staff

Janice Minder

Kerri Richards

Approval of the Agenda

Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship (CTNS) Board Vice President called the meeting to order with the first order of business to review and approve the agenda.

Dr. Willard requested to add an agenda item discussing his resignation from the Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship Board.

Kerri Richards noted that an addition was made to the initial agenda to hold an election of officials for the Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship Board.

It was moved by Dr. Shallenkamp, seconded by Dr. Schwan to approve the agenda.

Roll Call Vote

- Dr. Steve Willard Aye
- Dr. Anna Schwan Aye
- Dr. Kay Schallenkamp Aye

- Dr. Joseph Graves Aye
- Pat Mikkonen Aye

Approval of the Minutes – June 15, 2023

The board reviewed the minutes from June 15, 2023 and noticed no changes.

It was moved by Dr. Graves, seconded by Dr. Schwan to approve the minutes from June 15, 2023 as presented.

Roll Call Vote

- Dr. Steve Willard Aye
- Dr. Anna Schwan Aye
- Dr. Kay Schallenkamp Aye

- Dr. Joseph Graves Aye
- Pat Mikkonen Aye

Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship Board Meeting

February 22, 20234

Election of Officials

Dr. Willard nominated Dr. Anna Schwan as President, Dr. Schallenkamp seconds.

Dr. Willard moved to approve Dr. Anna Schwann as President of the Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship Board and Dr. Schallenkamp Seconded.

Roll Call Vote

- Dr. Steve Willard Aye
- Dr. Anna Schwan Aye
- Dr. Kay Schallenkamp Aye

- Dr. Joseph Graves Aye
- Pat Mikkonen Aye

Dr. Schwan as newly elected President of the Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship Board took over the meeting and called for a nomination for Vice President of the Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship Board.

Dr. Schallenkamp nominated and moved to approve Pat Mikkonen for Vice President position of the Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship Board and Dr. Willard seconded.

A voice vote of all "AYES" and no "NAYS" was held, motion carried.

Discussion of Critical Teaching Needs Areas

The Board deliberated and discussed data presented in the South Dakota Department of Education's Instructional Staff Turnover and Vacancy Dashboard regarding the status of all high need teaching areas identified throughout the South Dakota K-12 school districts.

Dr. Graves made a motion to keep the current Critical Teaching Needs areas. Motion was seconded by Dr. Schallenkamp.

A voice vote of all "AYES" and no "NAYS" was held, motion carried.

Approval of Application

The new South Dakota Board of Regents Scholarship Portal and Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship application was presented to the Board. A discussion of the questions and essay request was had by board members.

Dr. Schallenkamp made a motion to remove the <u>High School Activities</u>, <u>High School Honors and Awards</u>, and <u>High School Community Service/Volunteer</u> questions but keep the High School Transcript request, this was seconded by Dr. Willard.

A voice vote of all "AYES" and no "NAYS" was held, motion carried.

Dr. Willard moved to approve the application process and application as presented with approved changes, Dr. Schallenkamp seconded.

A voice vote of all "AYES" and no "NAYS" was held, motion carried.

Application Deadline

Dr. Schallenkamp moved to approve the scholarship deadline of April 15, 2024, Dr. Graves Seconded

Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship Board Meeting

February 22, 20234

Retirement - Dr. Willard

Dr. Willard noted that he was planning on retiring at the end of the current academic year and feels that it is important to have an active, sitting superintendent on the scholarship board. He resigns his position on the Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship Board effective at the end of the academic year.

Dr. Graves made a motion to approve Dr. Willards request to resign, Dr. Schallenkamp seconded.

A voice vote of all "AYES" and no "NAYS" was held, motion carried.

<u>Adjourn</u>

Pat Mikkonen made a motion to adjourn, Schallenkamp, second.

A voice vote of all "AYES" and no "NAYS" was held, motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:44.