SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF TECHNICAL EDUCATION MINUTES OF THE AUGUST 1, 2023, REGULAR MEETING

TELECONFERENCE

An audio recording of this meeting can be electronically accessed through the South Dakota Public Broadcasting's (SDPB) Stream Archive. The below timestamps are aligned with SDPB's audio stream, which can be accessed at: <u>https://sdpb.sd.gov/streamarchive/bote08012023.mp3</u>

1. Call to Order and Roll Call (0:06)

The South Dakota Board of Technical Education (hereinafter referred to as "BOTE") met on August 1, 2023, via teleconference. President Dana J. Dykhouse called the meeting to order at approximately 10:30 am (CST) with the following members present: Brad Greenway, Dennis Law, Joy Nelson, Terry Sabers, Brian Sandvig, Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, Diana VanderWoude.

Also present: Nick Wendell, Executive Director, BOTE Scott DesLauriers, Deputy Director, BOTE Tiffany Sanderson, President, Lake Area Technical College Mark Wilson, President, Mitchell Technical College Robert Griggs, President, Southeast Technical College Dr. Ann Bolman, President, Western Dakota Technical College Grace Beck, Policy Advisor and Lobbyist, Redstone Law Firm

2. Adoption of the Agenda (1:20)

Motion made by Nelson and seconded by Sabers to adopt the proposed agenda, as presented in <u>Attachment #1</u>.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes (1:50)

A. Action: May 25, 2023

Motion made by Greenway and seconded by Sandvig to adopt the minutes from the May 25, 2023, meeting, as presented in <u>Attachment #2</u>.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

4. Declaration of Conflicts (2:35)

Per SDCL 3-23-10, state boards and commissions are required to publicly address the expectations regarding annual disclosures and waivers. No BOTE members submitted new declarations of conflicts.

5. Public Comment (2:55)

Dykhouse opened the floor to public comment, though none was present.

6. Reports (3:15)

A. Informational: Executive Director, Nick Wendell

Wendell presented the executive director update.

7. Finance and Management (5:15)

A. Action: FY2025 Budget Request

Dykhouse recognized Wendell to overview the FY2025 Budget Request.

Motion made by Sabers and seconded by VanderWoude to approve the FY2025 Budget Request, as presented in <u>Attachment #3</u>.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

8. Institutional Effectiveness (32:30)

A. Informational: Summer 2023 Enrollment Report

Dykhouse recognized DesLauriers to overview the Summer 2023 Enrollment Report, as presented in <u>Attachment #4</u>.

9. Campus Updates (35:30)

A. Informational: Technical College President Reports

Sanderson (LATC), Wilson (MTC), Griggs (STC), and Bolman (WDTC) provided technical college president reports, as presented in <u>Attachment #5</u>.

10. Adjournment (50:30)

Motion made by Sabers and seconded by VanderWoude to adjourn the meeting.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 11:30 am CST.