SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF TECHNICAL EDUCATION MINUTES OF THE MAY 25, 2023, REGULAR MEETING

TELECONFERENCE

An audio recording of this meeting can be electronically accessed through the South Dakota Public Broadcasting's (SDPB) Stream Archive. The below timestamps are aligned with SDPB's audio stream, which can be accessed at: <u>https://sdpb.sd.gov/streamarchive/bote05252023.mp3</u>

1. Call to Order and Roll Call (0:06)

The South Dakota Board of Technical Education (hereinafter referred to as "BOTE") met on May 25, 2023, via teleconference. Board President Dana J. Dykhouse called the meeting to order at approximately 10:00 am (CST) with the following members present: Brad Greenway, Joy Nelson, Terry Sabers, Brian Sandvig, Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, Diana VanderWoude.

Also present: Nick Wendell, Executive Director, BOTE Scott DesLauriers, Deputy Director, BOTE Diane Stiles, Vice President, Lake Area Technical College Mark Wilson, Presidents, Mitchell Technical College Robert Griggs, President, Southeast Technical College Dr. Ann Bolman, President, Western Dakota Technical College Grace Beck, Policy Advisor and Lobbyist, Redstone Law Firm

2. Adoption of the Agenda (2:30)

Motion made by Greenway and seconded by Sandvig to adopt the proposed agenda, as presented in <u>Attachment #1</u>.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp.

Motion carried.

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes (3:50)

A. Action: April 6, 2023

Motion made by Sabers and seconded by VanderWoude to adopt the meeting minutes from the April 6, 2023, regular meeting, as presented in <u>Attachment #2</u>.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

4. Declaration of Conflicts (4:35)

Per SDCL 3-23-10, state boards and commissions are required to publicly address the expectations regarding annual disclosures and waivers. No BOTE members submitted new declarations of conflicts.

5. Public Comment (4:55)

Dykhouse opened the floor to public comment, though none was present.

6. Reports (5:15)

A. Informational: Executive Director, Nick Wendell

Wendell presented the executive director update.

7. Finance and Management (10:55)

A. Action: Annual Certificate of No Default and Debt Service Coverage

Wendell overviewed the Annual Certificate of No Default and Debt Service Coverage.

Motion made by Nelson and seconded by VanderWoude to approve the Annual Certificate of No Default and Debt Service Coverage, as presented in <u>Attachment #3</u>.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

8. Institutional Effectiveness (16:45)

A. Informational: FY23 Graduate Outcomes Report

DesLauriers overviewed FY23 Graduate Outcomes Report, as presented in <u>Attachment</u> <u>#4</u>.

9. Academic Affairs (20:50)

A. Non-Substantive Program Application(s)

I. Informational: MTC: Diploma in Wind Turbine Technology

Wilson overviewed MTC's approved Diploma in Wind Turbine Technology, as presented in <u>Attachment #5</u>.

B. Other:

I. Action: Discontinuation of Non-Functional Articulation Agreements

DesLauriers provided background on and overviewed the proposed action on the discontinuation of non-functional articulation agreements.

Motion made by Greenway and seconded by Sabers to approve the discontinuation of non-functional articulation agreements, as presented in <u>Attachment #6</u>.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

II. Action: Approval of Statewide Nursing Agreement

DesLauriers provided background on an overviewed the proposed action on the approval of the statewide nursing agreement.

Motion made by Schallenkamp and seconded by VanderWoude to approve the statewide nursing agreement, as presented in <u>Attachment #7</u>.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

10. Campus Updates (35:10)

A. Informational: Technical College President Reports

Stiles (LATC), Wilson (MTC), Griggs (STC), and Bolman (WDTC) provided technical college president reports, as presented in <u>Attachment #8</u>.

11. Adjournment (59:30)

Motion made by Nelson and seconded by VanderWoude to adjourn the meeting.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Greenway, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 11:00 am CST.