South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council Board Meeting Minutes Thursday, March 30, 2023 8:30 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

ACE Board Room - 5000 S. Broadband Lane, Suite 224 Sioux Falls, SD 57108

Present: Jason Frerichs, Chairman; David Struck, Vice Chairman; Mike McCranie, Treasurer; Todd Hanten, Tim Ostrem, Dawn Scheier, Ardon Wek, and David Iverson

Absent: Heather Beaner, Secretary

Staff Present: Jerry Schmitz, Executive Director; Becky Cypher, Executive Assistant; Paul Van Sloten, Accounting Manager, Bonnie Dybedahl, Program Manager, Accounting Manager; Mariah Kessler, Communications Director; and Maggie Vander Laan, Communications Specialist.

Guests Present: Jeff Thompson, SDSA 2nd Vice President; Kari VanderWal, SD Soybean Processors/ASA Industry Rep

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Frerichs led the board in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Call to Order – Jason Frerichs

Chairman Frerichs called the meeting to order at 8:29 a.m. He thanked everyone for their work at yesterday's meeting.

Approval of Agenda – Jason Frerichs

Chairman Frerichs would like to discuss the BioProducts Institute board position at the end of the meeting.

Motion:

David Struck moved to approve the agenda.

Seconded by Mike McCranie.

Motion passed unanimously.

Conflict of Interest Disclosures – Jason Frerichs

Chairman Frerichs asked board members to declare any new conflicts. None reported.

Secretary's Report – Todd Hanten, Acting Secretary

Approve the minutes from the March 13, 2023 Board Meeting

Motion:

Dawn moved to approve the meeting minutes from the March 13, 2023 board meeting. Seconded by Ardon Wek.

Motion passed unanimously.

Treasurer's Report – Mike McCranie

Review Financials

Mike said the board reviewed the financials at the Zoom meeting on March 13th. Chairman Frerichs accepted the treasurer's report as presented.

Expense Report Training

Jerry displayed the current Council expense policy manual, and the board reviewed each section.

The board agrees to change the internet policy reimbursement as follows:

"Council members will automatically receive partial reimbursement of \$600/year to cover cell phone, internet, and data fees to be paid at the end of each fiscal year. The payment will be pro-rated for individuals that do not serve the full year."

Motion:

Dawn Scheier moved to approve the policies as amended effective immediately. Seconded by Todd Hanten.

Seven in favor, one opposed. Motion passed.

USB Selection

Motion

Tim Ostrem moved to enter into executive session at 9:52 a.m. to discuss personnel matters (USB candidates).

Seconded by David Iverson.

Motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Frerichs declared the board out of executive session to discuss personnel matters.

The Council voted for nominees to the United Soybean Board by unanimous ballot. Candidates for USB: Todd Hanten and David Poppens. Tyler Urban submitted his resume after the internal deadline.

Since all three candidates were interviewed last year, Chairman Frerichs opted to forgo the interviews. The board voted whether to accept the late resume of Tyler Urban.

Motion:

Mike McCranie moved to allow all three candidates for the United Soybean Board seat. Seconded by Ardon Wek.

Motion failed.

Todd Hanten was elected by secret ballot as the primary nominee for the open seat. David Poppens was elected as the alternate nominee.

FY24 Funding Requests – Biodiesel Investment Channel

E-Folder Update - Chris Rahn, ELBO Computing Resources

FY24 Funding Requests – International Marketing Investment Channel

Ritz Ag - See For Yourself - PNW \$55,000.00

Motion:

Todd Hanten moved to approve Ritz Ag Consulting's proposal for the See for Yourself mission in FY24 in the amount of \$55,000.

Seconded by Tim Ostrem.

Motion passed unanimously.

FY24 Funding Requests – Domestic Marketing Investment Channel

FY24 Funding Requests – Public Information | Education Investment Channel

Checkoff Communications:

SD Soybean Network Radio Buy \$30,000

Motion:

Dawn Scheier moved to approve the FY24 SD Soybean Network Radio Buy in the amount of \$30,000. Seconded by Tim Ostrem.

Motion passed unanimously.

Public Input

Chairman Frerichs called for public input at 4:21 p.m. None received.

SD Soybean Yield Contest - \$125,300

Motion:

Todd Hanten moved to fund the FY24 Yield Contest in the amount of \$125,300.

Seconded by David Struck.

Motion passed unanimously.

Dakotafest - \$25,000

The board asked if SD Corn was willing to share expenses and tent again this year. Bonnie said SD Corn has committed.

Motion:

Mike McCranie moved to fund 2023 Dakotafest in the amount of \$25,000.

Seconded by Tim Ostrem.

Motion passed unanimously.

FY24 Funding Requests – Operations Investment Channel

SDSA Golf Sponsorship - \$2,500

By consensus, the Council approved SDSA Golf Sponsorship in the amount of \$2,500 so the Golf Committee and staff can proceed to make arrangements for the July event.

FY24 Funding Requests – Research Investment Channel

Motion:

David Struck moved to fund the SDSU research proposals in the amount of \$459,923 for FY24. Seconded by Ardon Wek.

Motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Frerichs relinquished the chair to Vice Chairman David Struck at 4:58 p.m.

Other Items

Dakota BioProducts Innovation Institute

Jerry mentioned the Dakota Bioproducts Innovation Institute board seat. Currently, Tim Ostrem is on their advisory board on behalf of the Council. With his term ending this summer, Jerry asked who the board would like to put in his seat.

Todd Hanten nominated David Iverson to serve on the Dakota Bioproducts Innovation board. With no further nominations, David Iverson accepted.

Adjourn	
Acting Chairman David Struck declared the meeting adjourned at 5:07 p.m.	
Todd Hanten, Acting Secretary	 Date Approved
SD Sovbean Research & Promotion Council	• •