South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council Board Meeting Minutes Friday, August 10, 2022 9:00 a.m.

Via Zoom Teleconference | https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85110914842

Call to Order - Chairman Jason Frerichs

Chairman Frerichs called the meeting to order at 9:02 a.m.

Roll Call - Chairman Jason Frerichs

Chairman Frerichs took roll call. Mike McCranie – present, David Struck – present, Ardon Wek – present, Tim Ostrem – present, Heather Beaner – present, Todd Hanten – present, David Iverson – present, Dawn Scheier – present, and Jason Frerichs – present.

Guests Present: Jordan Scott, SDSA President; Molly DeHaai

Staff Present: Jerry Schmitz, Executive Director; Becky Cypher, Executive Assistant; Adam Kask, Market Development & Research Director; Paul Van Sloten, Accounting Manager; Mariah Kessler, Communications Specialist; Bonnie Dybedahl, Program Manager; and Maggie Vander Laan, Information Specialist

Conflict of Interest – Chairman Jason Frerichs

Chairman Frerichs asked board members to declare any new conflicts. None reported.

Approval of Agenda – Chairman Jason Frerichs

Motion:

Mike McCranie moved to approve the agenda.

Seconded by Dawn Scheier.

Motion passed unanimously.

Trade Mission Discussion

Adam reviewed the revised itineraries for the two trade missions. The prior motion was taken off the table.

Motion:

Mike McCranie moved to amend the motion to go to Vietnam/Japan instead of Morocco and to change the itinerary to Vietnam/Cambodia.

Seconded by Jason Frerichs.

One in favor, seven opposed. Motion fails.

Motion:

Vote on main motion to go to Morocco, originally made by Todd Hanten and econded by Heather Beaner.

Motion passed unanimously.

Motion:

Todd Hanten moved to invite nine Council members, two staff members, and two Association members on the trade mission.

Seconded by David Iverson.

Motion:

Mike McCranie moved to amend the motion to extend an invitation to Secretary of Ag and Natural Resources, Hunter Roberts.

Seconded by Dawn Scheier.

Six in favor, two opposed. Motion passed.

Motion:

Vote on amended main motion to invite nine Council members, two staff members, two Association members, and Secretary of Ag and Natural Resources, Hunter Roberts on the trade mission. Motion passed unanimously.

Public Input

Chairman Frerichs called for public input at 9:50 a.m. None received.

Adjourn

Motion:

Dawn Scheier moved to adjourn the meeting at 9:56 a.m. Seconded by Todd Hanten.

Motion passed unanimously.