# South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council Board Meeting Minutes Friday, July 1, 2022

Via Zoom Teleconference | https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83729065870

**Present:** Tim Ostrem, Chairman; David Struck, Vice Chairman; Todd Hanten, Treasurer; Jason Frerichs, Secretary; David Iverson, Mike McCranie, Heather Beaner, Dawn Scheier, and Ardon Wek

**Staff Present:** Jerry Schmitz, Executive Director; Becky Cypher, Executive Assistant; Mariah Kessler, Communications Specialist; Paul Van Sloten, Accounting Manager; and Adam Kask, Market Development & Research Director

#### Call to Order - Tim Ostrem

Chairman Ostrem called the meeting to order at 8:31 a.m.

## Approval of Agenda – Tim Ostrem

David Struck moved to approve the agenda. Seconded by Dawn Scheier. Motion passed unanimously.

#### **Conflict of Interest Disclosures – Tim Ostrem**

Chairman Ostrem asked board members to declare any new conflicts. None received.

The meeting was turned over to Vice Chairman David Struck.

#### Officer Elections

The candidates announced their intent for office in advance of the meeting. No nominations from the floor were taken.

#### Chairman

Todd Hanten, Tim Ostrem, and Jason Frerichs were candidates for Chairman. Todd Hanten withdrew his name. **Vote occurred by secret ballot. Jason Frerichs was elected FY23 Chairman.** 

The meeting was turned over to Chairman Frerichs.

## **Vice Chairman**

David Struck and Todd Hanten were the candidates for Vice Chairman. Todd Hanten withdrew his name from the ballot. Mike McCranie moved to cast a unanimous ballot for David Struck. Seconded by Ardon Wek. Motion passed unanimously. David Struck was elected FY23 Vice Chairman.

## Secretary

Mike McCranie, Todd Hanten, and Heather Beaner were candidates for Secretary. Todd Hanten and Mike McCranie withdrew their names from the ballot. **David Struck cast a unanimous ballot for Heather Beaner. Seconded by Todd Hanten. Motion passed unanimously. Heather Beaner was elected FY23 Secretary.** 

#### Treasurer

Todd Hanten and Mike McCranie were candidates for Treasurer. Vote occurred by secret ballot. Mike McCranie was elected FY23 Treasurer.

## **Ad hoc Committee Approval**

Dawn Scheier moved to establish the following committees for operation in FY2023 until the new strategic planning: Joint Committees: Biodiesel Committee, International Marketing Committee, Domestic Committee, Public Information | Education Committee, and Communications Committee. Seconded by David Iverson. Motion passed unanimously.

# Other Items

## **Public Input**

Chairman Frerichs called for public at 8:50 a.m. None received.

#### **Adjourn**

Dawn Scheier moved to adjourn the meeting at 8:58 a.m. Seconded by Mike McCranie. Motion passed unanimously.