## South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council Board Minutes

**Tuesday, April 9th, 2019 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.** SD Soybean Office (upstairs) ACE Board Room Sioux Falls, SD

**Present:** Craig Converse, Chairman; Todd Hanten, Vice Chairman; Mike McCranie, Secretary; Dawn Scheier, Treasurer; Tim Ostrem, Matt Bainbridge

**Staff Present:** Jerry Schmitz, Executive Director; Becky Cypher, Executive Assistant; Adam Kask, Market Development and Research; Paul Van Sloten, Accounting Manager; Emily Henes, Communications and Program Specialist; Bonnie Dybedahl, Contract Staff Member

**Guests Present:** Jeff Thompson, SDSA President; Derrick Scott, SDSA First Vice-President; David Iverson, USB; David Struck, Bob Metz, Steve Wik

Chairman Converse declared the board out of recess at 8:31 a.m.

#### **Pledge of Allegiance**

Chairman Converse led the board in the Pledge of Allegiance.

### Call to Order/Consent Agenda/Approval of Agenda - Craig Converse

# Dawn Scheier moved to approve the agenda. Seconded by Mike McCranie. Motion passed unanimously.

#### **Conflict of Interest Disclosures**

Chairman Converse asked board members to declare any new conflicts of interest since the last board meeting. None were reported.

#### Secretary's Report - Mike McCranie

# Mike McCranie moved to approve the secretary's report as presented. Seconded by Todd Hanten. Motion passed unanimously.

### Treasurer's Report – Dawn Scheier Review Financials

Paul Van Sloten gave an overview of the balance sheet. Paul displayed the bushels assessed/remittance spreadsheet. The board members reviewed the financials as presented.

Matt Bainbridge moved to transfer unspent funds from the USAPEEC New Zealand project to the USAPEEC India brochure project in FY19 in the amount of \$15,617.46. Seconded by Dawn Scheier. Motion passed unanimously. Mike McCranie recused himself from voting.

#### SDSU 5-year Agreement

Dawn Scheier moved to extend the SDSU 5-year agreement for one year. Seconded by Todd Hanten. Motion passed unanimously.

Todd Hanten moved to fund the golf meal sponsorship in the amount up to \$2,000. Seconded by Mike McCranie. Motion passed unanimously.

### Executive Director Report – Jerry Schmitz USB Director Nominations

Five farmers submitted applications for consideration as nominees to the US Secretary of Agriculture to fill USB Director seats becoming available. The applicants: Jason Frerichs, Dennis Jaeger, Dave Poppens, Mike McCranie and Tim Ostrem were interviewed, and their names placed on ballots.

The Council held an election by secret ballot to select nominees to the US Secretary of Ag.

Mike McCranie received a majority of votes and was declared primary nominee for seat one.

Dave Poppens received a majority of votes and was declared alternate nominee for seat one.

Jason Frerichs received a majority of votes and was declared primary nominee for seat two.

Tim Ostrem received a majority of votes and was declared alternate nominee for seat two.

### **Council Election Update**

Becky and Jerry gave an update on the upcoming SD Council election. Becky said there is one more week of advertising, and petitions are due April 23<sup>rd</sup>.

### **Other Items**

# Dawn Scheier moved to enter executive session at 7:29 p.m. to discuss contract negotiations. Seconded by Mike McCranie. Motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Converse declared the board out of executive session at 8:18 p.m. No action taken.

### Todd Hanten moved to adjourn the meeting at 8:19 p.m. Seconded by Tim Ostrem. Motion passed unanimously.