SD State Board of Dentistry Board Meeting Drifters Event Center- Ft. Pierre, SD Friday February 9, 2024

President Renemans called the meeting to order at 10:30 am Central.

Board Members Present: Dr. Nick Renemans, Dr. Scott Van Dam, Dr. Brian Prouty and Zona Hornstra.

Board Members Present via Video/Audio Conferencing: Dr. Harold Doerr.

Board Staff Present: Brittany Novotny, Megan Borchert, Lisa Harsma, and Dusti Palecek.

Board Staff Present via Video/Audio Conferencing: Shelly Munson and Hilary Williamson.

Presenters attending via Video/Audio Conferencing: Hailey Bruggeman (SDDHA), Tasha Wendel (SHHDA), Matt Shafer (Council of State Governments), Kimber Cobb (AADB), and Dr. Art Jee (AADB).

Others Present: Paul Knecht, Ann Schwartz, and Mike Mueller

Renemans called for public testimony during the open forum. There was no public testimony.

Motion to approve the minutes of the October 20, 2023 board meeting and public rules hearing by Hornstra. Second by Prouty. Motion carried.

Motion to adopt the agenda by Hornstra. Second by Van Dam. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the financial report by Van Dam. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Novotny provided an office update.

Hailey Bruggeman and Tasha Wendel presented an update on the South Dakota Dental Hygienists' Association.

Paul Knecht presented an update on the South Dakota Dental Association, the Dental Wellness Program, the Oral Health Coalition, and the Oral Health Coalition Dental Workforce Solutions Taskforce.

Matt Shafter with the Council of State Governments presented information on the Council of State Governments dental and dental hygiene compact.

Kimber Cobb and Dr. Art Jee with AADB presented information on the AADB dental and dental hygiene compact.

Motion to move into Executive Session pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2 (3) consulting with legal counsel and (4) contracts by Hornstra. Second by Prouty. Motion carried. The Board went into Executive Session at 12:04 pm.

Motion to move out of Executive Session by Van Dam. Second by Prouty. Motion carried. The Board moved out of Executive Session at 1:54 pm.

Motion to approve the dentist credential verification applications of Jedediah Thor Burton, Ryan M George, Gregory Griner Goggans, Jonathan Michael Hanks, Travis Wayne Lambert, Soren Loftus and Derek Danny Gene Weigand by Van Dam. Second by Prouty. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist credential verification application of Raven Mary Rae Dolan by Prouty. Second by Van Dam. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dentist regular applications of Alexandria Cochrane Cashmore by Van Dam. Second by Prouty. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist regular applications of Marlee Raye Nies and Payton Hannah Remmers by Prouty. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the agreed disposition for case 06.2324 by Van Dam. Second by Prouty. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the radiographer registration application of Tierra Evans by Van Dam. Second by Prouty. Motion carried.

Motion to issue to Deanna Fresquez a provisional registered dental assistant registration pursuant to SDCL 36-1D-2, valid until April 12, 2024 or until Ms. Fresquez completes the DANB Radiation Health and Safety exam with a passing or failing score, whichever comes first, by Hornstra. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the FY2025 contracts, as proposed, by Doerr. Second by Van Dam. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the South Dakota Dental Association 2024 speaker honorarium application for \$7,500 for Dr. Gregory Psaltis to present "Establishing Equilibrium in the 5G World" and "Getting Past "Uh-Oh", "No" and Helicopters" by Van Dam. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

The Board announced the following meeting dates: May 31, 2024, October 18, 2024, and February 7, 2025.

Motion to adjourn by Van Dam. Second by Prouty. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 2:18 pm.

Zona Hornstra, Secretary