SD State Board of Dentistry Board Meeting Drifters Event Center- Ft. Pierre, SD Friday February 7, 2025

President Van Dam called the meeting to order at 10:10 am Central.

Board Members Present: Dr. Scott Van Dam, Dr. Nick Renemans, Dr. Brian Prouty, Dr. Harold Doerr, Dr. Jon Schaack, Amy Perry and Ashley Flynn.

Board Staff Present: Brittany Novotny, Megan Borchert, Lisa Harsma, and Dusti Palecek.

Board Staff Present via Video/Audio Conferencing: Shelly Munson (Prosecutor), Dr. Dennis Mills (Investigator), Dr. Randy Sachau (Investigator) and Hilary Williamson (General Counsel-AAID Litigation).

Presenters attending via Video/Audio Conferencing: Vin DiCianni (Affiliated Monitors, Inc.), Tasha Wendel (SDDHA), and Caitlyn Lint (SDDHA).

Others Present: Paul Knecht, Ann Schwartz, Dr. Michelle Scholtz and Zach Parsons.

Van Dam welcomed new Board member Amy Perry and asked her to introduce herself.

Van Dam called for public testimony during the open forum. There was no public testimony.

Motion to approve the minutes of the October 18, 2024 board meeting by Renemans. Second by Doerr, Motion carried.

Motion to adopt the agenda by Perry. Second by Flynn. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the financial report by Schaack. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Novotny provided an office update.

Paul Knecht presented an update on the South Dakota Dental Association, the Dental Wellness Program, and the Oral Health Coalition.

Vin DiCianni with Affiliated Monitors, Inc. presented information to the Board on its monitoring program.

Tasha Wendel and Caitlyn Lint presented an update on the South Dakota Dental Hygienists' Association.

Motion to move into Executive Session pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2 (3) consulting with legal counsel and (4) contracts by Doerr. Second by Renemans. Motion carried. The Board went into Executive Session at 11:08 pm.

Motion to move out of Executive Session by Perry. Second by Doerr. Motion carried. The Board moved out of Executive Session at 2:41 pm.

Motion to approve the dentist credential verification applications of Benedict Richard Miraglia Jr., Zohra Saleh and Tyler Neldon Williams by Renemans. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist credential verification application of Adrianne Destinee Aeikens, Melissa Rae Drennon, Debra Ann Griffith, Lorelle Jean Kleman, and Michelle Joy Scott by Perry. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist regular applications of Kendryn LaHeln Bullinger, Stephanie Marie Sjurson and Kyra Nikole Trader by Perry. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the agreed disposition for case 14.2425 by Doerr. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the agreed disposition for case 16.2425 by Flynn. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the agreed disposition for case 13.2425 by Doerr. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the agreed disposition for case 21.2425 by Perry. Second by Flynn. Van Dam was recused from voting. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the agreed disposition for case 01.2425 by Renemans. Second by Schaack. Van Dam was recused from voting. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the agreed disposition for case 07.2425 and 19.2425 by Renemans. Second by Flynn. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the Registered Dental Assistant registration application of Cynthia Arbuckle by Flynn. Second by Perry. Motion carried.

Dr. Michelle Scholtz with Horizon Health presented on Teledentistry.

Motion to approve the amended FY2025 contracts, as proposed, by Doerr. Second by Perry. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the FY2026 contracts, as proposed, by Renemans. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

The Board reviewed the Anesthesia Inspector application of Dr. Chris Diaz-Freed. Motion to deny the Anesthesia Inspector application of Dr. Chris Diaz-Freed by Doerr. Second by Perry. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the South Dakota Dental Association 2025 speaker honorarium application for \$5,625 for Dr. Joy Void- Holmes to present "Don't Be So Sensitive- Managing Dentinal Hypersensitivity Pre & Post Debridement & The Paradigm Shift" and the South Dakota Dental Hygienists' Association 2025 speaker honorarium application for \$2,250 for Dr. Emily Boge to present "Infection Control, Risk Management, OSHA/HIPPA for the Dental Team" by Doerr. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to appoint Amy Perry as the Dental Hygiene approving Board member by Doerr. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

The Board announced the following meeting dates: May 30, 2025, October 10, 2025, and February 6, 2026.

Motion to adjourn by Perry. Second by Renemans. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 3:25 pm.

Dr. Scott Van Dam, President