State Conservation Commission Meeting Minutes

January 24, 2019

Winter Meeting

Teleconference, SDDA Large Conference room

Call to Order: the meeting was called to order at 1:00 PM CST by Chairman Tom Glover.

Members Present by Teleconference: Mike Konechne, Tom Glover, Doug Hansen, Aaron Kiesz, Charlie Moe, Gerald Thaden, Bruce Haines, Gene Williams

Members Absent: Wayne Bunge

Introduction of new board member: Bruce Haines was introduced as the new board member from Mitchell and will serve a three year term.

Others present in person: Angela Ehlers Executive Director with the South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts (SDACD), Kim Paxton with the South Dakota Department of Agriculture (SDDA), and Bill Smith with SDDA.

Others attending the meeting via conference call at 1:00 pm CDT.

Brian Scott with SDDA, Tina DeHaai & Eric Weeman from Brule-Buffalo Conservation District, Peggy Loomis from Hamlin Conservation District, Peg Haenfler from Bon Homme Conservation District, Wendy Mathers from Aurora Conservation District, Spencer Grubb from Sanborn Conservation District, Stephanie Pauli from Grant Conservation District and Kris Dozark from the South Dakota Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR).

Election of Officers: Bill Smith took over the meeting for the election of officers. A motion was made by Chairman Tom Glover and seconded to elect Doug Hansen as the chairman. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-abstained, Aaron Kiesz-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Gene Williams-aye. **Motion carried.**

Motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to elect Gene Williams as the Vice-Chairman. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Aaron Kiesz-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Gene Williams abstained. **Motion carried.**

Meeting Minutes: Motion was made by Tom Glover and seconded to approve the November 15, 2018 minutes as submitted. Roll call vote: Gene Williams aye, Mike Konechne-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen- aye, Aaron Kiesz-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.**

Request for new items to be placed on the agenda: None.

Upcoming Travel: Forest Stewardship Committee Meeting and Forest Action Plan Goals Gene Williams will represent the Conservation Commission at January 30, 2019 Forest Stewardship Coordinating Committee Meeting in Rapid City. Motion was made by Aaron Kiesz and seconded to approve upcoming travel. Roll call vote: Gene Williams abstained, Mike Konechne-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen- aye, Aaron Kiesz-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye.

Correspondence: None.

Nutrient Research and Education Council Nomination: Bruce Haines will represent the Commission as the Nutrient Research and Education Council Nomination.

Guidelines and Priorities: Motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to Approve the Guidelines and Priorities for 2019. Roll Call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen—aye, Aaron Kiesz-aye, Charlie Moe—aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. Gene Williams-aye. Motion carried.

Loan Review Report: Brian Scott gave the loan status report.

Revolving Loan Applications: No applications were received.

Grant Program/Updates/Changes/Amendments/Report: Brian Scott gave an update on the Grant Program.

2019 Docket: A motion was made by Gene Williams and seconded to approve the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) recommendations to change cost-share of cover crops from not to exceed \$45/acre and not to exceed 80 acres to not to exceed \$28.16 and not to exceed 160 acres and to change the cost-share of fabricated windbreaks from not to exceed \$28.50 per linear foot to not to exceed \$16.62 per linear foot. A substitute motion was made by Mike Konechne to approve the increased not to exceed amounts for livestock practices as proposed by the Brule-Buffalo Conservation District, **Motion failed for a lack of a second.**

Gerald Thaden made a motion and seconded to approve the 2019 docket as discussed in the original motion to approve the docket with the changes proposed by NRCS. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Mike Konechne-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Aaron Kieszabsent, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.**

Partner Reports: Reports were given by Angela Ehlers (SDACD) and Kris Dozark (DENR).

Spring Grant Round Date: The Spring Grant round will be April 11, 2019.

Soil Erosion and Sediment Control Complaint Form Changes: Bill informed the Commission that the current erosion and sediment complaint letter includes a blank to record the name of the person filing a complaint. Other complaints (such as weed and pest) allow the person filing the complaint to remain anonymous. Bill informed the Commission that there is nothing in law requiring that the person filing the complaint to be identified. A motion was

made by Gene William and seconded to add "optional" behind "complainant" on the soil and sediment complaint example letters. Roll Call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Aaron Kiesz-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. Gene Williams-aye. **Motion carried**.

Next meeting date and place: The next Commission meeting will be on April 11, 2019 in Pierre at the Matthews Training Center. Time to be determined.

Meeting ending time: 2:45 PM CST.

As recorded by Kim Paxton.