# Meeting Minutes - DRAFT South Dakota Council of Juvenile Services Microsoft Teams Call

September 26, 2022

Monday, September 26, 2022

Council of Juvenile Services Members Present: Beth O'Toole, Chair and Professor at the University of Sioux Falls; Sara McGregor-Okroi, Vice-Chair and Director of Aliive-Roberts County; Dadra Avery, School Counselor at Sturgis Brown High School; Judge Tami Bern, First Judicial Circuit Judge; Kristi Bunkers, Director of Juvenile Services; Cassidy Frederick, Youth Member; Cindy Heiberger, Minnehaha County Commissioner; Brad Howell, Codington County Sheriff; Jen Johnson, Southeastern Directions for Life JJRI Coordinator; Angela Lisburg, Avera St. Mary's Central South Dakota Child Assessment Center; and Dave McNeil, Aberdeen Police Department Chief.

Council of Juvenile Services Members Absent: Pat Bad Hand, Rosebud Sioux Tribe Juvenile Detention Center Administrator, Mason Best, Youth Member; Melanie Boetel, Department of Social Services; Kim Cournoyer, Service Provider; Daniel Haggar, Minnehaha County State's Attorney; Doug Hermann, Executive Director of The Club for Boys; Chuck Frieberg, Director of Court Services; Tierney Scoblic, Youth Member; and Skylir Skipper, Youth Member.

Others Present: Bridget Coppersmith and John Stewart, South Dakota Department of Corrections (DOC).

## 1. WELCOME, INTRODUCTIONS AND AGENDA REVIEW

Chair Beth O'Toole welcomed everyone to the meeting at 2:33 PM on September 26, 2022 and introductions were made. Bridget Coppersmith took roll call, and a quorum was validated by Coppersmith at this time.

## 2. PERIOD FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Chair O'Toole asked if there were any public comments to be brought before the Council at the meeting. After confirmation that no one had comments to share, Chair O'Toole proceeded with the meeting agenda and ended the period for public comment.

#### 3. DISCLOSURE OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Coppersmith reviewed the funding decision coming before the Council from Lutheran Social Services in Pennington County. No conflicts of interest were identified by Council Members or DOC Staff.

# 4. APPROVAL OF JUNE 2022 CJS MEETING MINUTES

Chair O'Toole provided an overview of the June 2022 Meeting Minutes.

Cindy Heiberger moved to approve the June 2022 meeting minutes; Judge Tami Bern seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

### 5. RATIFICATION OF JULY 2022 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ACTIONS

Chair O'Toole provided an overview of the need for the July 2022 Executive Committee Meeting to act regarding the submission of the annual Title II Formula Grants Program Application to the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJDP) and a Native American Programs subgrant application. Coppersmith noted that following the meeting, the approved subrecipient declined the award and expressed interest for reapplying next year.

Jen Johnson moved to ratify the actions from the July 2022 Executive Committee Meeting; Sheriff Brad Howell seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

#### 6. ACTION CONCERNING COALITION FOR JUVENILE JUSTICE MEMBERSHIP

Coppersmith explained that the Coalition for Juvenile Justice (CJJ) has a \$5,000 annual membership fee for each state. Historically, South Dakota paid to be members until the federal award decreased by \$200,000. The membership allows for discounts in conference attendance and resources from CJJ.

Kristi Bunkers moved to submit payment for membership to CJJ; Jen Johnson seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

#### 7. STATUS REPORT

Coppersmith reported that the Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2018 Award was on track to be closed out by its end date of September 30, 2022 once Native American Programs claims are processed. Drawdowns were actively being applied to the FFY 2019 award and the DOC planned to submit a budget amendment to fully expend the award ahead of the September 30, 2023 end date. Coppersmith noted that the state had also received funding for FFY 2020 and 2021 in the amount \$1,034,845 which would be accessed after the close out of the 2019 award.

Coppersmith explained that the OJJDP was holding their annual conference in December 2022 in San Diego. Coppersmith, Stewart, the DOC Director of Finance and Administration, and a CJS youth member would be in attendance.

## 8. DISPROPORTIONATE MINORITY CONTACT (DMC) FUNDING DISCUSSION AND ACTION

Coppersmith provided an overview of DMC initiatives and explained that DOC staff were working to have all subgrants on a state fiscal year calendar and host some sort of training or event following attendance at the November CJJ national conference focused on DMC. Coppersmith explained that Lutheran Social Services in Pennington County applied for continued funding of previously approved projects and to work toward sustainability of services for the funding period of October 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023. Minnehaha County Lutheran Social Services was not in a position to request additional funding to support services till July 2023 as their current award had been extended till December 2022 and the county was actively working toward sustainability.

Cindy Heiberger moved to approve the Lutheran Social Services in Pennington County application as written, Angela Lisburg seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

## 9. JUVENILE JUSTICE UPDATES

Heiberger provided an overview of the JDAI Statewide Meeting held in Chamberlain on September 12<sup>th</sup> which highlighted positive impacts of the RAI usage in South Dakota along with discussions of current initiatives. Heiberger added that Minnehaha County is in the beginning stages of assessing the need for a remodel or new build of the Juvenile Detention Center in Sioux Falls.

Kristi Bunkers provided an overview of the Legislative Juvenile Justice Summer Study and their discussions of options for improvements to the system.

Chair O'Toole provided an overview of the mentoring program at the University of Sioux Falls which had placed 52 mentors with students at Edison Middle School in Sioux Falls.

# 10. NEXT MEETING AND ADJOURN

The next meeting is scheduled for January or February 2023 with the exact date and location to be determined.

At 3:12 PM, Chair Beth O'Toole moved to adjourn, Jen Johnson seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

Recorded by Bridget Coppersmith, Juvenile Justice Specialist