State Conservation Commission Minutes September 16, 2024 Watertown, Ramkota

Call to Order: Vice Chairman Gene Williams called the meeting to order at 11:00 AM CT.

Roll Call of Members Present: Gene Williams, Tom Glover, Dusty Rodiek, Dean Odden, Bruce Haines, and Duane Schneider.

Absent: Bill Coburn, Doug Hansen, and Charlie Moe.

Others Present: Bill Smith (DANR), Alex Roeber (DANR), Jordan Turgeon (DANR), Paul Lorenzen (DANR), Hunter Pecard (DANR), Karl Jensen (Lawrence CD), Tami Moore (Miner CD), Jean Fagerland (Marshall CD), Drew Anderson (Perkins CD), Ryan Wendinger (GFP), and Tony Sunseri (NRCS), and several others in attendance who did not speak are identified on sign-in sheets.

Others present via Conference line: Kim Paxton (DANR) and Catherine Williamson (South Dakota Office of Hearing Examiners).

Conflict of Interest Disclosure: None.

Approval of the July 17 Minutes: A motion was made by Dusty Rodiek and seconded to approve the July 17 minutes as submitted. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, and Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

Upcoming travel: Bill Smith said that they are only aware of possible upcoming area legislative meetings. Those will be shared with the commission once we receive those from the conservation districts.

Request for new business to be placed on the agenda: None.

Correspondence: None.

11:05 AM CT the meeting was turned over to Catherine Williamson, South Dakota Office of Hearing Examiners to preside over the proposed changes to ARSD 12:03:01 and ARSD 12:03:06.

Ms. Williamson asked Bill Smith to go over the proposed changes to ARSD 12:03:01 and ARSD 12:03:06. Mr. Smith outlined the changes that were made as a result from HB 1033 where "soil" was changed to "natural resources" in several places. The definition of "Urban Area" was removed because of changes made in SB 78 that was passed by the 2017 South Dakota Legislature. Additionally, style and form changes were made to these two chapters as per the South Dakota Legislative Research Council's recommendations.

Ms. Williamson asked if there were any persons present at the meeting if they wished to make comment on the proposed rule. Seeing none, Ms. Williamson asked if anyone attending via telephone wished to make any comments. Hearing no response, Ms. Williamson asked DANR staff if any written comments were received to be read into the record. Mr. Smith responded that DANR received no written comments on the proposed changes.

Receiving no comments, Ms. Williamson ask the Commission if they would entertain a motion regarding the proposed changes to ARSD 12:03:01 and ARSD 12:03:06. A motion was made by Bruce Haines and seconded to approve the changes as presented regarding ASRD 12:03:01 and ARSD 12:03:06. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

Ms. Williamson closed the public hearing at 11:12 AM CT and turned the meeting back to Vice Chairman Williams.

Revolving Loan Report: Jordan Turgeon provided the revolving loan status report.

Grant Program/Updates/Changes/Extensions/Final Reports/Amendments. A motion was made by Bruce Haines and seconded to approve Lawrence Conservation District's 2023-CSW-18 Forest Thinning grant request for a one-year extensions and use the 2024 Cost Docket. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Duane Schneider and seconded to approve Marshall Conservation District's 2022-CSW-019 Multi-County, Multi-Purpose grant request to use the 2024 Docket. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-

aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-aye. **Motion carried.**

A motion was made by Dusty Rodiek and seconded to approve Miner Conservation District's 2024-CSW-016 Soil Health Improvement grant request for a one-year extension. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Dusty Rodiek seconded to approve Moody Conservation District's 2023-CSW-023 Shelterbelt grant request to use the 2024 docket. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiekaye, Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Dean Odden and seconded to approve Perkins Conservation District's 2024-CSW-017 Fencing Pipeline Seeding grant request for a one-year extension. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Duane Schneider and seconded to approve Perkins Conservation District's 2024-CSW-019 Perkins County Tree Planting grant request for a one-year extension. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

Commission Member Report: None.

Cost Share Docket for 2025: Jordan Turgeon informed the commission a memo was sent by DANR requesting proposed changes to the current cost-share docket. Deadline to submit changes is October 1.

Division Report: Paul Lorenzen updated the Commission on division activities.

Advisory Board Members Reports:

Ryan Wendinger updated the commission on GFP activities.

Tony Sunseri updated the commission on NRCS activities.

Josh Wagner updated the commission on SDACD Employees Association.

Open Forum and Public Comment: None.

Next Meeting location and place: The next commission meeting will be held in November. Time and date to be determined.

Ending Remarks: None.

Vice Chairman Williams declared the meeting adjourned at 11:40 AM CT.

