State Conservation Commission Minutes July 17, 2024 Teleconference

Call to Order: Chairman Doug Hansen, the meeting to order at 8:00 AM CT.

Roll Call of Members: Gene Williams, Tom Glover, Dusty Rodiek, Charlie Moe, Dean Odden, Doug Hansen, Bruce Haines, Duane Schneider, Bill Coburn.

Others present Via Teleconference: Bill Smith (DANR), Alex Roeber (DANR), Jordan Turgeon (DANR), Kim Paxton (DANR), Paul Lorenzen (DANR), Allison Kiner (DANR), Angela Ehlers (SDACD), Chuck Pyle (USFW), Tami Moore (Miner CD), Bryan Kludt (Hutchinson CD), and Amy Sis (Grant CD).

Conflict of Interest Disclosure: None.

Approval of the April 10, 2024 Minutes: A motion was made by Dusty Rodiek and seconded to approve the April 10, 2024 meeting minutes. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-aye, Bill Coburn-aye. Motion carried.

Upcoming travel: Bill Smith gave an update for upcoming travel.

Request for new business to be placed on the agenda: None.

Correspondence: None.

Revolving Loan Report: Jordan Turgeon gave the revolving loan status report.

Revolving Loan Applications: Jordan Turgeon presented Hand Conservation District's revolving loan applications for a pickup truck to the commission.

A motion was made by Dusty Rodiek seconded to approve the Hand County Conservation District request to purchase a new Ford pickup in the amount of \$65,000. Roll call vote: Gene Williams, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dean Odden-abstained, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-nay, Bill Coburn-aye. Motion carried.

Grant Extension/Amendment requests: Alex Roeber presented Miner Conservation District's request for a one-year amendment on their grant #2023-CSW-031 State-Wide Career Development Grant. A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to approve the Miner Conservation District request for a one-year extension to Grant #2023-CSW-031. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dean Oddenaye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-aye, Bill Coburn-aye. Motion carried.

Division Report: Paul Lorenzen and Bill Smith updated the Commission on division activities.

Administrative Rules: Bill Smith informed the commission about changes to Administrative Rules resulting from the clean-up bills during the 2024 legislative session and scheduling a future public hearing.

Communication Strategy for Ag Lenders/Influencers: Angela Ehlers briefed the commission on the development of this strategy.

Advisory Board Members Reports: Angela Ehlers gave the SDACD report. Chuck Pile gave the USFW report.

Open Forum and Public Comment: None.

Next Meeting location and place: The next commission will be held during the SDACD annual conference at the Ramkota Hotel in Watertown on September 16 starting at 7:00 am CT.

Ending Remarks: None.

The Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 8:32 AM CT.