July 13, 2022– 9:00 a.m. CT. VIRTUAL

Location: MacKay Building, First Floor, Conference Room 1 800 Governors Drive, Pierre South Dakota

Public Access: 1-346-248-7799Meeting ID: 935 8770 6117 Passcode: 637932

- Present: Peter Books Erin Brenden Linda Heerde Chantal Ligtenberg Daniel Martin Darla Mayer Samantha Walder
- Others: Paul Bachand, Commission Counsel Present: Jenna Schweiss, Commission Counsel Ferne Haddock, Executive Secretary

Call to Order and Roll call

Vice Chairman Ligtenberg called the meeting to order at approximately 9:01 a.m. CT.

Roll Call: a quorum of the PAPSC membership was present.

Adoption of Agenda

Motion by Walder second by Books to adopt the July 13, 2022, agenda. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Martin, Mayer, Walder, and Ligtenberg. Motion carried.

Approval of Minutes

Motion by Mayer second by Martin to approve October 28, 2021, minutes. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Martin, Mayer, Walder, and Ligtenberg. Motion carried.

Welcome new members

Introduction of Peter Books, Superintendent, Castlewood School District. Linda Heerde, School Board member, and Dan Martin, Superintendent, Timber Lake School District.

Election of officers

Election of Chairman

Ligtenberg nominated Walder for Chairman for 2022.

Motion by Ligtenberg second by Mayer that nominations cease, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Walder for Chairman 2022. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Martin, Mayer, Walder, and Ligtenberg. Motion carried.

Ligtenberg ceded the gavel to Walder.

Election of Vice Chairman

Ligtenberg nominated Martin for Vice Chairman 2022.

Motion by Books second by Heerde that nominations cease, and a unanimous ballot be cast. for Martin for Vice Chairman 2022. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Ligtenberg, Martin, Mayer, and Walder. Motion carried.

Appoint Executive Secretary

Motion by Martin second by Books to appoint Ferne Haddock executive secretary. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Ligtenberg, Mayer, Martin, and Walder. Motion carried.

Designate Commission Counsel

Motion by Heerde second by Ligtenberg to designate Paul Bachand and Jenna Schweiss as Commission Counsel. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Ligtenberg, Mayer, Martin, and Walder. Motion carried.

PAPSC Annual Report-2021: (SDCL 13-43-39)

Motion by Ligtenberg second by Books to accept the PAPSC Annual Report-2021 and authorize the Chairman to sign the report and submit the report to the South Dakota Board of Education Standards. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Ligtenberg, Mayer, Martin, and Walder. Motion carried.

Public Comment: (SDCL 1-25-1)

There was no public comment.

Executive Session: (SDCL 1-25-2)

Motion by Martin second by Books to go into executive session to discuss legal issues with Commission Counsel. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Ligtenberg, Mayer, Martin, and Walder. Motion carried.

Commission went into executive session at approximately 9:12 a.m. CT.

Commission came out of executive session at approximately 10: 13 a.m. CT.

PAPSC 2022-01

Motion by Ligtenberg second by Books that the complaint filed PAPSC 2022-01 be dismissed. Roll call vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Ligtenberg, Mayer, Martin, and Walder. Motion carried.

PAPSC 2022-02

Motion by Ligtenberg second by Books that the complaint filed PAPSC 2022-02 be dismissed. Roll call vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Ligtenberg, Mayer, Martin, and Walder. Motion carried.

PAPSC 2022-03

Motion by Ligtenberg second by Books that the complaint filed PAPSC 2022-03 be dismissed. Roll call vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Ligtenberg, Mayer, Martin, and Walder. Motion carried.

PAPSC 2022-04

Motion by Martin second by Brenden that the complaint filed PAPSC 2022-04 be dismissed. Roll call vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Ligtenberg, Mayer, Martin, and Walder. Motion carried.

Adjournment

Motion by Books second by Heerde to adjourn. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Books, Brenden, Heerde, Ligtenberg, Mayer, Martin, and Walder. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at approximately 10:18 a.m. CT.

Ferne Haddock-Executive Secretary

08/11/2022