

May 17, 2023, @4:05 p.m. CT VIRTUAL

Location: MacKay Building, First Floor, MCR 3

800 Governors Drive, Pierre, South Dakota

Present Nichole Bowman
Via ZOOM David Christian

Jean Gunderson Alesha Limbo Joy Robbins Kaye Wickard

Absent Crystal McMachen

Via Zoom Paul Bachand, Commission Counsel @ MacKay: Ferne Haddock. Executive Secretary

Others Amanda LaCroix, Kathryn Blaha, Gerry Kaufman, and other members of the

Present: public via telephone or ZOOM.

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Chairman Robbins called the meeting to order at approximately 4:02 p.m. CT.

Roll call. A quorum of the Commission was present.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Motion by Limbo second by Christian to adopt the May 17, 2023, agenda. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Limbo, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion by Christian second by Bowman to approve the February 28, 2023, minutes. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Limbo, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

PUBLIC COMMENT SDCL 1-25-1

There was no public comment.

New Business

Motion by Wickard second by Bowman to move the Code of Ethics Administrative Rules to the top of new business on the agenda. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Limbo, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

Code of Ethics Administrative Rules

Amanda LaCroix, Senior Staff Attorney, DOE presented ARSD 24:08 Educator (Code of Ethics) proposed rules to the commission. Kathryn Blaha, Director, Division of Accreditation and Certification, DOE, was also present.

Motion by Gunderson second by Wickard to go into Executive session to discuss legal issues with commission counsel. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Limbo, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

Commission went into executive session at approximately 4:21 p.m. CT.

Commission came out of executive session at approximately 4:32 p.m. CT.

Motion by Christian second by Wickard to support the proposed ARSD 24:08 Educator (Code of Ethics) changes as presented by the Department of Education and hold a hearing. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Limbo, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

Motion by Limbo second by Bowman to go into Executive session to discuss legal issues with commission counsel. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Limbo, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

Commission went into executive session at approximately 4:36 p.m. CT.

Commission came out of executive session at approximately 5:18 p.m. CT.

PTPSC 2023-01

Motion by Gunderson second by Limbo to dismiss PTPSC 2023-01. Roll call vote. All present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Limbo, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

PTPSC 2023-02

05/17/2023 PTPSC 2

Motion by Wickard second by Bowman to move PTPSC 2023-02 to a hearing. Roll call vote. All present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Limbo, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

PTPSC 2023-03

Motion by Christian second by Gunderson to move PTPSC 2023-03 to a hearing. Roll call vote. All present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Limbo, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Christian second by Wickard to adjourn. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Limbo, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

Meeting adjourned at approximately 5:23 p.m. CT.

Ferne G. Haddock Executive Secretary PTPSC 06/06/2023

05/17/2023 PTPSC 3