PROFESSIONAL TEACHERS PRACTICES AND STANDARDS COMMISSION

May 9, 2022 @9:00 a.m. CT.

Location: MacKay Building, First Floor, Library Commons

800 Governors Drive, Pierre, South Dakota

Present David Christian, Vice Chairman 2022

Ann Noyes

Joy Robbins, Chairman 2022

Kaye Wickard

Via Zoom Paula McMahan

Absent Crystal McMachen

Others Paul Bachand-Commission Counsel Present: Ferne Haddock-Executive Secretary

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Chairman Robbins called the meeting to order at approximately 9:02 a.m. CT.

Roll call. A quorum of the Commission was present.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Motion by Wickard second by Christian to approve the May 9, 2022, agenda. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes, McMahan, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion by Christian second by Noyes to approve the March 29, 2022, minutes. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes, McMahan, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

PUBLIC COMMENT SDCL 1-25-1

There was no public comment.

HEARING

PTPSC 2022-02 (Private)

EXECUTIVE SESSION SDCL 1-25-2(3)6

Motion by Wickard second by Christian to go into executive session to discuss legal issues with Commission Counsel. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes, McMahan, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

Commission went into executive session at approximately 12:04 a.m. CT.

Commission came out of executive session at approximately 1:22 p.m. CT.

PTPSC 2022-02

Motion by Christian second by McMahan that a complaint be filed with the Secretary of Education in regard to PTPSC 2022-02, for proceedings to suspend the educator certificate for four years and that the Chair be authorized to execute the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law and Order along with the complaint to the secretary. Roll call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes, McMahan, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Wickard second by Noyes to adjourn. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes, McMahan, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

Meeting adjourned at approximately 1:23 p.m. CT.

Ferne G. Haddock Executive Secretary PTPSC 07/01/2022

05/09/2022 PTPSC minutes 2