# PROFESSIONAL ADMINISTRATORS PRACTICES AND STANDARDS COMMISSION

Thursday, April 23, 2020 – 9:00 a.m. CT.

Location: MacKay Building, First Floor, Conference Room 3

800 Governors Drive, Pierre South Dakota

Public telephonic access: 1-866-410-8397/conference code: 8381998525

Present: Debra Johnson
Via phone: Chantal Ligtenberg

Darla Mayer

Robert Sittig -Vice Chairman (2019)

Eric Stroeder Samantha Walder

Paul Bachand, Commission Counsel

@ MacKay: Ferne Haddock - Executive Secretary

## Call to Order and Roll call

Vice Chairman Sittig called the meeting to order at approximately 9:02 a.m. CT.

Roll Call.

A quorum was present.

# **Adoption of Agenda**

Motion by Johnson and second by Ligtenberg to adopt the April 23, 2020, agenda. Roll call vote: Johnson AYE. Ligtenberg AYE. Mayer AYE. Sittig AYE. Stroeder AYE. Walder AYE. Motion carried.

# **Approval of Minutes**

Motion by Walder and second by Stroeder to approve December 18, 2019, minutes. Roll call vote: Johnson AYE. Ligtenberg AYE. Mayer AYE. Sittig AYE. Stroeder AYE. Walder AYE. Motion carried.

## **Election of Officers**

# **Election of Chairman**

Ligtenberg nominated Sittig for Chairman.

Motion by Stroeder and second by Mayer that nominations cease, and a unanimous ballot be cast. Roll call vote: Johnson AYE. Ligtenberg AYE. Mayer AYE. Sittig AYE. Stroeder AYE. Walder AYE. Motion carried.

Robert Sittig is Chairman for 2020.

# **Election of Vice Chairman**

Ligtenberg nominated Mayer for Vice Chairman.

Motion by Johnson and second by Stroeder that nominations cease, and a unanimous ballot be cast. Roll call vote: Johnson AYE. Ligtenberg AYE. Mayer AYE. Sittig AYE. Stroeder AYE. Walder AYE. Motion carried.

Darla Mayer is Vice Chairman for 2020.

# **Appoint Executive Secretary**

Motion by Ligtenberg and second by Mayer to appoint Ferne Haddock Executive Secretary. Roll call vote: Johnson AYE. Ligtenberg AYE. Mayer AYE. Sittig AYE. Stroeder AYE. Walder AYE. Motion carried.

# **Designate Commission Counsel**

Motion by Stroeder and second by Ligtenberg to designate Paul Bachand as Commission Counsel. Roll call vote: Johnson AYE. Ligtenberg AYE. Mayer AYE. Sittig AYE. Stroeder AYE. Walder AYE. Motion carried.

# **2019 PAPSC Annual Report**

Motion by Johnson and second by Ligtenberg to approve the 2019 PAPSC Annual Report and authorize the Chairman to sign and submit the report to the South Dakota Board of Education Standards. Roll call vote: Johnson AYE. Ligtenberg AYE. Mayer AYE. Sittig AYE. Stroeder AYE. Walder AYE. Motion carried.

#### **Public Comment**

There was no public comment.

Motion by Stroeder and second by Mayer to go into executive session to discuss legal issues with Commission Counsel. Roll call vote: Johnson AYE. Ligtenberg AYE. Mayer AYE. Sittig AYE. Stroeder AYE. Walder AYE. Motion carried.

Commission went into executive session at approximately 9:20 a.m. CT.

Commission came out of executive session at approximately 10:10 a.m. CT.

## PAPSC 2020-01

Motion by Johnson and second by Ligtenberg that the complaint PAPSC 2020-01 be dismissed. Roll call vote: Johnson AYE. Ligtenberg AYE. Mayer AYE. Sittig AYE. Stroeder AYE. Walder AYE. Motion carried.

## PAPSC 2020-02

Motion by Mayer and second by Stroeder that the complaint PAPSC 2020-02 be dismissed. Roll call vote: Johnson AYE. Ligtenberg AYE. Mayer AYE. Sittig AYE. Stroeder AYE. Walder AYE. Motion carried.

# Adjournment

Motion by Ligtenberg and second by Walder to adjourn. Roll call vote: Johnson AYE. Ligtenberg AYE. Mayer AYE. Sittig AYE. Stroeder AYE. Walder AYE. Motion carried.

The mayer fire stag fire stroeder fire. Walder fire in	otion carried.
Meeting adjourned at approximately 10:13 a.m. CT.	
	<u>06/24/2020</u>
Ferne Haddock-Executive Secretary	Date