PROFESSIONAL TEACHERS PRACTICES AND STANDARDS COMMISSION

April 21, 2020 @ 9:00 a.m. Central Time

1			
2	Public Access via telephone: Dial 1-866-410-8397: conference code 8381998525#		
3			
4	Location:	MacKay Building, First Floor, Conference Room 3	
5		800 Governors Drive, Pierre, South Dakota	
6	_		
7	Present	Valena Baker	
8	via	David Christian	
9	Phone:	Crystal McMachen	
10		Paula McMahan-Vice Chairman (2019)	
11		Ann Noyes	
12		Joy Robbins	
13			
14	Absent:	Kaye Wickard	
15	_		
16	Present:	Ferne Haddock-Executive Secretary	
17	@MacKay		
18			
19	Via Phone:	Paul Bachand, Commission Counsel	
20		Holly Farris, Assistant Attorney General.	
21			
22	CALL TO ORI	DER AND ROLL CALL	
23			
24	Vice Chairma	an McMahan called the meeting to order at approximately 9:01 a.m. CT.	
25			
26	Roll call.		
27			
28	A quorum w	as present.	
29			
30	ADOPTION (OF AGENDA	
31			
32	•	oyes and second by McMachen to approve the April 21,2020, agenda. Roll call	
33		AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE. McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE.	
34	Motion Carri	ied	
35			
36	APPROVAL (OF MINUTES	
37			
38	•	oyes and second by Baker to approve the October 17, 2019, minutes. Roll call vote	
39	Baker AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE. McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE. Motion		
40	Carried		
41			
42	ELECTION O	F OFFICERS	
43	 -		
44	Chair	rman	

45	
46	Noyes nominated McMahan for Chairman.
47	
48	Motion by McMachen and second by Noyes that nominations cease, and a unanimous ballot be
49	cast for McMahan for Chairman. Roll call vote: Baker AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE.
50	McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE. Motion Carried
51	
52	Paula McMahan is Chairman for 2020.
53	
54	Vice Chairman
55	
56	Noyes nominated McMachen for Vice Chairman.
57	
58	Motion by Christian and second by Noyes that nominations cease, and a unanimous ballot be
59	cast for McMachen for Vice-Chairman. Roll call vote: Baker AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE.
60	McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE. Motion Carried
61	
62	Crystal McMachen is Vice-Chairman for 2020
63	
64	APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE SECRETARY
65	Maria h Balana da arada Mandada da arada Barada da Barada Barada Barada Barada Barada Barada Barada Barada Bar
66 C 7	Motion by Baker and second by McMachen to appoint Ferne Haddock Executive Secretary. Roll
67 co	call vote: Baker AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE. McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE. Motion Carried
68 69	Motion Carried
70	DESIGNATION OF COMMISSION COUNSEL
70 71	DESIGNATION OF COMMISSION COOKSEE
, <u>.</u> 72	Motion by Noyes, second by Baker, to designate Paul Bachand as Commission Counsel. Roll call
73	vote: Baker AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE. McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE.
, 3 74	Motion Carried
, . 75	The tien earlies
76	2019 ANNUAL REPORT
77	
78	Motion by Baker and second by McMachen to approve the PTPSC 2019 Annual Report and
79	authorize Commission Chairman to sign and submit the report to the South Dakota Secretary o
80	Education. Roll call vote: Baker AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE. McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE.
81	Robbins AYE. Motion Carried
82	
83	PUBLIC COMMENT
84	
85	There was no public comment.

04/21/2020 PTPSC minutes 2

86

87 88	Motion by Noyes and second by Robbins to go into executive session to discuss legal issues with Commission Counsel. Roll call vote: Baker AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE. McMahan AYE.
89	Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE. Motion Carried
90	
91	Commission went into executive session at approximately 9:21 a.m. CT.
92	
93	Chairman McMahan brought the Commission out of executive session at approximately 10:25
94	a.m. CT.
95	
96	NEW BUSINESS
97	
98	PTPSC 2020-01
99	
100	Motion by Noyes and second by McMachen that PTPSC 2020-01 move to a hearing. Roll call
101	vote: Baker AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE. McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE.
102	Motion Carried
103	
104	PTPSC 2020-02
105	
106	Motion by Christian and second by McMachen that PTPSC 2020-02 move to a hearing. Roll call
107	vote: Baker AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE. McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE.
108	Motion Carried
109	
110	PTPSC 2020-03
111	
112	Motion by Noyes and second by Robbins that PTPSC 2020-03 move to a hearing. Roll call vote:
113	Baker AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE. McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE. Motion
114	Carried
115	DTDCC 2020 04
116	PTPSC 2020-04
117	Mation by Christian and second by Dobbins that DTDSC 2020 04 mayo to a bearing and to defer
118 119	Motion by Christian and second by Robbins that PTPSC 2020-04 move to a hearing and to defer the hearing on the complaint until resolution of the criminal proceedings. Roll call vote: Baker
120	AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE. McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE. Motion Carried
121	ATE. CHIIStian ATE. Miciwachen ATE. Miciwanan ATE. Noyes ATE. Robbins ATE. Micholi Carried
122	PTPSC 2020-05
123	11136 2020 03
124	Motion by McMachen and second by Baker that PTPSC 2020-05 move to a hearing. Roll call
125	vote: Baker AYE. Christian AYE. McMachen AYE. McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE.
126	Motion Carried
127	
128	The Commission directed Commission Counsel and the executive secretary to research possible
129	ways to hold hearings during the COVID-19 situation.
130	

04/21/2020 PTPSC minutes 3

1	ADJOURNMENT
2	
3	Motion by Noyes and second by Robbins to adjourn. Roll call vote: Baker AYE. Christian AYE.
1	McMachen AYE. McMahan AYE. Noyes AYE. Robbins AYE. Motion Carried
5	
6	Meeting adjourned at approximately 10:33 a.m. CT.
7	
3	
9	
)	
1	
2	Ferne G. Haddock Date
3	Executive Secretary PTPSC