SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF TECHNICAL EDUCATION MINUTES OF THE DECEMBER 4, 2023, REGULAR MEETING

Western Dakota Technical College Event Center 800 Mickelson Drive, Rapid City, SD 57703

An audio recording of this meeting can be electronically accessed through the South Dakota Public Broadcasting's (SDPB) Stream Archive. The below timestamps are aligned with SDPB's audio stream, which can be accessed at: https://sdpb.sd.gov/streamarchive/bote12042023.mp3

1. Call to Order and Roll Call (0:06)

President Dana J. Dykhouse called the meeting to order at approximately 10:00 am (MTN) with the following members present: Doug Ekeren, Dennis Law, Joy Nelson, Brian Sandvig, Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, Diana VanderWoude. The following members were absent: Brad Greenway, Terry Sabers.

Also present:

Nick Wendell, Executive Director, BOTE

Scott DesLauriers, Deputy Director, BOTE

Tiffany Sanderson, President, Lake Area Technical College (LATC)

Mark Wilson, President, Mitchell Technical College (MTC)

Robert Griggs, President, Southeast Technical College (STC)

Dr. Benjamin Valdez, Vice-President for Academic Affairs (STC)

Dr. Ann Bolman, President, Western Dakota Technical College (WDTC)

Grace Beck, Policy Advisor and Lobbyist, Redstone Law Firm

Additional representatives from the technical colleges, local governing boards, public, and media.

2. Adoption of the Agenda (N/A)

Motion assumed by Dykhouse to adopt the proposed agenda, as presented in Attachment #1.

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes (2:00)

A. Action: October 12, 2023

Motion made by Nelson and seconded by VanderWoude to adopt the minutes from the October 12, 2023, regular meeting, as presented in Attachment #2.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

4. Declaration of Conflicts (2:40)

Per SDCL 3-23-10, state boards and commissions are required to publicly address the expectations regarding annual disclosures and waivers. No BOTE members submitted new declarations of conflicts.

5. Public Comment (3:00)

Dykhouse opened the floor to public comment, though none was present.

6. Reports (3:10)

A. Informational: Executive Director, Nick Wendell

Wendell presented the executive director update.

7. Governance and Policy (5:30)

A. Informational: 2024 Legislative Session Preview, Redstone Law Firm

Beck previewed the 2024 Legislative Session.

B. Informational: Strategic Priorities - Campus Visits Follow-Up

Wendell overviewed the strategic priorities campus visit follow-up report and goals presentation, as presented in Attachment #3 and Attachment #4.

C. Action: Approval of Strategic Priorities and Related Goals

Motion made by Schallenkamp and seconded by VanderWoude to approve the strategic priorities and related goals, as presented in Attachment #5.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Ekeren, Law, Nelson, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

8. Institutional Effectiveness (59:00)

A. Informational: Appendix A (2022-2023)

DesLauriers overviewed the Appendix A Report, as presented in Attachment #6.

B. Informational: Fall 2023 Retention Report

DesLauriers overviewed the Fall 2023 Retention Report, as presented in Attachment #7.

9. Academic Affairs (1:06:15)

A. Non-Substantive Program Application(s)

I. Informational: STC: DIPL: Off-Road Heavy Equipment

Valdez overviewed the non-substantive program application, as presented in Attachment #8.

II. Informational: STC: DIPL: Trucking Technology

Valdez overviewed the non-substantive program application, as presented in Attachment #9.

B. Substantive Program Application(s)

I. Action: STC: AAS: Pre-Engineering

Motion made by Law and seconded by Nelson to approve the substantive program application, as presented in Attachment #10.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Ekeren, Law, Nelson, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

II. Action: STC: AAS: Residential Property Appraiser

Motion made by Ekeren and seconded by Schallenkamp to approve the substantive program application, as presented in Attachment #11.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Ekeren, Law, Nelson, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

10. Campus Updates (1:16:10)

A. Informational: Technical College President Reports

Sanderson (LATC), Wilson (MTC), Griggs (STC), and Bolman (WDTC) provided technical college president reports, as presented in Attachment#12.

11. Executive Session (1:38:00)

At approximately 11:45 am MTN, Dykhouse requested a motion to enter an executive session to discuss personnel and student matters pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2.

Motion made by Law and seconded by Sandvig to enter executive session.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Ekeren, Law, Nelson, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

Motion made by Schallenkamp and seconded by Ekeren to exit executive session.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Roll call vote. Voting yes: Dykhouse, Ekeren, Law, Nelson, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

The BOTE exited the executive session at approximately 12:55 pm MTN.

12. Adjournment (1:40:15)

Motion made by Sandvig and seconded by Schallenkamp to adjourn the meeting.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 1:00 pm MTN.