SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF TECHNICAL EDUCATION MINUTES OF THE DECEMBER 10, 2024, REGULAR MEETING

First PREMIER Bank 500 S. Minnesota Ave. Sioux Falls, SD 57104 Board Room – 5th Floor

An audio recording of this meeting can be electronically accessed through the South Dakota Public Broadcasting's (SDPB) Stream Archive. The below timestamps are aligned with SDPB's audio stream, which can be accessed at: https://sdpb.sd.gov/streamarchive/bote12102024.mp3

1. Call to Order and Roll Call (0:06)

President Dana J. Dykhouse called the meeting to order at approximately 10:00 a.m. (CST) with the following members present: Doug Ekeren, Brad Greenway, Dennis Law, Joy Nelson, Brian Sandvig and Dr. Kay Schallenkamp. The following members were absent: Terry Sabers and Diana VanderWoude.

Also present:

Nick Wendell, Executive Director, BOTE

Scott DesLauriers, Deputy Director, BOTE

Jenna Reis, Policy & Data Analyst, BOTE

Tiffany Sanderson, President, Lake Area Technical College (LATC)

Mark Wilson, President, Mitchell Technical College (MTC)

Dr. Cory Clasemann, President, Southeast Technical College (STC)

Christine Goldsmith, Acting President, Western Dakota Technical College (WDTC)

Cam Corey, Vice President, LATC

Grace Beck, Policy Advisor and Lobbyist, Redstone Law Firm

Morgan Matzen, Argus Leader

Additional representatives from the technical colleges, local governing boards, public, and media.

2. Adoption of the Agenda (1:23)

Motion made by Sandvig and seconded by Greenway to adopt the proposed agenda, as presented in Attachment #1.

Chairman Dykhouse requested an amendment to reorder the agenda so item "09.B.III.WDTC: AAS: Dental Hygiene" would be addressed prior to "03.A.Approval of Meeting Minutes – October 17, 2024."

With no objections to the proposed amendment, a voice vote was requested by Chairman Dykhouse.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

3. Academic Affairs (2:05)

A. Substantive Program Application

I. Action: WDTC: AAS: Dental Hygiene

Motion made by Nelson and seconded by Ekeren to approve the substantive program application, as presented in Attachment #2.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

4. Approval of Meeting Minutes (3:35)

A. Action: October 17, 2024

Motion made by Sandvig and seconded by Law to adopt the minutes from the October 17, 2024, regular meeting, as presented in Attachment #3.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

5. Declaration of Conflicts (4:06)

Per SDCL 3-23-10, state boards and commissions are required to publicly address the expectations regarding annual disclosures and waivers. No BOTE members submitted new declarations of conflicts.

6. Public Comment (4:28)

Dykhouse opened the floor to public comment. None were present.

7. Reports (4:45)

A. Informational: Executive Director, Nick Wendell

Wendell presented the executive director update.

8. Governance and Policy (6:08)

A. Informational: 2025 Legislative Session Preview, Redstone Law Firm

Beck presented a preview of the 2025 Legislative Session.

9. Institutional Effectiveness (16:45)

A. Informational: Appendix A (2023-2024)

Reis overviewed Appendix A (2023-2024), as presented in Attachment #4.

B. Informational: Fall 2024 Retention Report

Reis overviewed the Fall 2024 Retention Report, as presented in Attachment #5.

10. Academic Affairs (25:38)

A. Non-Substantive Program Application

I. Informational: LATC: AAS Child Care Management

Sanderson (LATC) overviewed the non-substantive program application, as presented in <u>Attachment#6</u>.

B. Substantive Program Application(s)

I. Action: LATC: AAS: Social Work

Motion made by Nelson and seconded by Schallenkamp to approve the substantive program application, as presented in <u>Attachment #7.</u>

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

II. Action: STC: L-CERT: Early Childhood Leadership

Motion made by Greenway and seconded by Ekeren to approve the substantive program application, as presented in Attachment #8.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

11. Campus Updates (36:08)

A. Informational: Technical College President Reports

Sanderson (LATC), Wilson (MTC), Clasemann (STC), and Executive Director Wendell provided technical college president reports, as presented in Attachment.#9.

12. Executive Session (51:55)

At approximately 10:53 a.m. CST, Dykhouse requested a motion to enter an executive session to discuss matters pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2.

Motion made by Sandvig and seconded by Law to enter executive session.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

Motion made by Nelson and seconded by Ekeren to exit executive session.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

The BOTE exited the executive session at approximately 12:22 p.m. CST.

13. Adjournment (52:03)

Motion made by Schallenkamp and seconded by Nelson to adjourn the meeting.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 12:25 p.m. CST.