SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF TECHNICAL EDUCATION MINUTES OF THE OCTOBER 12, 2023, REGULAR MEETING

Mitchell Technical College Muth Electric Technology Center – Amphitheater 1800 E Spruce St. Mitchell, SD 57301

An audio recording of this meeting can be electronically accessed through the South Dakota Public Broadcasting's (SDPB) Stream Archive. The below timestamps are aligned with SDPB's audio stream, which can be accessed at: https://sdpb.sd.gov/streamarchive/bote10122023.mp3

1. Call to Order and Roll Call (0:06)

Board Secretary Terry Sabers called the meeting to order at approximately 10:00 am (CST) with the following members present: Brad Greenway, Dennis Law, Joy Nelson, Brian Sandvig, Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, Diana VanderWoude. The following members were absent: Dana J. Dykhouse, Doug Ekeren.

Also present:

Nick Wendell, Executive Director, BOTE
Scott DesLauriers, Deputy Director, BOTE
Tiffany Sanderson, President, Lake Area Technical College (LATC)
Mark Wilson, President, Mitchell Technical College (MTC)
Robert Griggs, President, Southeast Technical College (STC)
Dr. Ann Bolman, President, Western Dakota Technical College (WDTC)

2. Adoption of the Agenda (1:50)

Motion made by Schallenkamp and seconded by Greenway to adopt the proposed agenda, as presented in Attachment#1.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes (2:25)

A. Action: August 1, 2023

Motion made by Nelson and seconded by VanderWoude to adopt the minutes from the August 1, 2023, regular meeting, as presented in Attachment #2.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

4. Declaration of Conflicts (3:10)

Per SDCL 3-23-10, state boards and commissions are required to publicly address the expectations regarding annual disclosures and waivers. No BOTE members submitted new declarations of conflicts.

5. Public Comment (3:20)

Sabers opened the floor to public comment, though none was present.

6. Reports (3:45)

A. Informational: Executive Director, Nick Wendell

Wendell presented the executive director update.

7. Governance and Policy (6:00)

A. Informational: Strategic Priorities Update

Wendell, as well as Sanderson (LATC), Wilson (MTC), Griggs (STC), and Bolman (WDTC), provided a strategic priorities update, as presented in Attachment #3.

8. Finance and Management (1:15:40)

A. Informational: Bonding Update – South Dakota Health and Educational Facilities Authority (SDHEFA)

Wendell provided a bonding and debt service update, as presented in Attachment #4.

9. Institutional Effectiveness (1:24:15)

A. Informational: Fall 2023 Enrollment Report

DesLauriers overviewed the Fall 2023 Enrollment Report, as presented in Attachment #5.

10. Academic Affairs (1:30:10)

A. Additional Location or Branch Campus Application(s)

I. Action: WDTC: Hot Springs (Hot Springs, SD)

Motion made by Law and seconded by Schallenkamp to approve the WDTC Additional Location Application – Hot Springs, SD, as presented in Attachment #6.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

11. Campus Updates (1:34:00)

A. Informational: Technical College President Reports

Sanderson (LATC), Wilson (MTC), Griggs (STC), and Bolman (WDTC) provided technical college president reports, as presented in Attachment #7.

12. Adjournment (1:43:40)

Motion made by Greenway and seconded by Schallenkamp to adjourn the meeting.

Roll call vote. Voting yes: Greenway, Law, Nelson, Sabers, Sandvig, Schallenkamp, VanderWoude.

Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 11:45 am CST.