SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF TECHNICAL EDUCATION MINUTES OF THE DECEMBER 8, 2022, REGULAR MEETING

Lake Area Technical College Student Center, Level 4. 1201 Arrow Avenue, Watertown, SD 57201

An audio recording of this meeting can be electronically accessed through the South Dakota Public Broadcasting's (SDPB) Stream Archive. The below timestamps are aligned with SDPB's audio stream, which can be accessed at: https://sdpb.sd.gov/streamarchive/Bote12082022.mp3

1. Call to Order and Roll Call (0:06)

The South Dakota Board of Technical Education (hereinafter referred to as "BOTE") met on December 8, 2022, at Lake Area Technical College in Watertown, SD, Board President Dana J. Dykhouse called the meeting to order at approximately 10:30 am (CST) with the following members present: Doug Ekeren, Brad Greenway*, Joy Nelson, Scott Peterson, Terry Sabers, Brian Sandvig, Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, Diana VanderWoude. *Note: Greenway joined shortly after rollcall.

Also present:

Nick Wendell, Executive Director, BOTE Scott DesLauriers, Deputy Director, BOTE Michael Cartney, President, Lake Area Technical College Tiffany Sanderson, Incoming President, Lake Area Technical College Diane Stiles, Vice President, Lake Area Technical College LuAnn Strait, Director of Student Services, Lake Area Technical College Shane Ortmeier, Director of Support Operations, Lake Area Technical College Clayton Deuter, Vice President of Enrollment Services, Mitchell Technical College Robert Griggs, President, Southeast Technical College Dr. Benjamin Valdez, Vice President of Academic Affairs, Southeast Technical College Dr. Ann Bolman, President, Western Dakota Technical College Grace Beck, Policy Advisor and Lobbyist, Redstone Law Firm

2. Adoption of the Agenda (2:50)

Motion made by Nelson and seconded by VanderWoude to adopt the proposed agenda, as presented in Attachment #1.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes (3:15)

A. Action: October 13, 2022

Motion made by Ekeren and seconded by Sandvig to adopt the meeting minutes from the October 13, 2022, regular meeting, as presented in Attachment #2.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

4. Declaration of Conflicts (3:50)

Per SDCL 3-23-10, state boards and commissions are required to publicly address the expectations regarding annual disclosures and waivers. No BOTE members submitted new declarations of conflicts.

5. Public Comment (4:05)

Dykhouse opened the floor to public comment, though none was present.

6. Reports (4:30)

A. Informational: Executive Director, Nick Wendell

Wendell presented the executive director update.

7. Governance and Policy (8:45)

A. Informational: 2023 Legislative Session Preview, Redstone Law Firm

Beck previewed the 2023 Legislative Session.

8. Institutional Effectiveness (15:30)

A. Informational: Appendix A (2021-2022)

DesLauriers overviewed the Appendix A (2021-2022) Report, as presented in <u>Attachment</u> #3.

B. Informational: Fall 2022 Retention Report

DesLauriers overviewed the Fall 2022 Retention Report, as presented in Attachment #4.

9. Academic Affairs (21:25)

A. Informational: Update: Articulation and Transfer Partnership with South Dakota Board of Regents

DesLauriers provided an informational update regarding three articulation and transfer initiatives occurring in partnership with the South Dakota Board of Regents.

B. Competency-Based Education (CBE) Grant and Implementation Pilot

I. Informational: Overview of CBE Grant and Implementation Pilot

DesLauriers overviewed the CBE Grant and Implementation Pilot, as reflected in Attachment #5.

II. Action: STC: Approval of CBE Program Application and Pilot Expectations

Dykhouse recognized Griggs and Valdez to overview STC's CBE Program Application.

Motion made by Sabers and seconded by Greenway to approve Southeast Technical College's CBE Program Application and Pilot Expectation, as presented in https://example.com/Attachment/46.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor.

Motion carried.

10. Campus Updates (58:20)

A. Informational: Technical College Presidents' Reports

Cartney (LATC), Deuter (MTC), Griggs (STC), and Bolman (WDTC) provided technical college presidents' reports, as presented in Attachment #7.

11. Adjournment (1:31:40)

Motion made by Ekeren and seconded by VanderWoude to adjourn the meeting.

Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 11:30 am CST.

