February 11, 2022, @ 9:00 a.m. CT.

Location:	MacKay Building, First Floor, Library Commons
	800 Governors Drive, Pierre, South Dakota

Present David Christian Crystal McMachen, Vice Chairman Paula McMahan, Chairman Ann Noyes Joy Robbins

Absent Kaye Wickard

Others Paul Bachand, Commission Counsel Present: Jenna Schweiss, Commission Counsel Ferne Haddock-Executive Secretary

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Chairman McMahan called the meeting to order at approximately 9:00 a.m. CT.

Roll call. A quorum of the Commission was present.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Motion by Christian second by McMachen to approve the February 11, 2022, agenda. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Christian, Noyes, Robbins, McMachen, and McMahan.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion by Robbins second by Noyes to approve the December 6, 2021, minutes. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Christian, Noyes, Robbins, McMachen, and McMahan.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Chairman

Christian nominated Robbins for Chairman for 2022. Nominations closed. Voice vote for Robbins as Chairman for 2022. All present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Christian, Noyes, Robbins, McMachen, and McMahan.

Vice Chairman

Robbins nominated Christian for Vice Chairman for 2022. Nominations closed. Voice vote, for Christian as Vice Chairman for 2022. All present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Christian, Noyes, Robbins, McMachen, and McMahan.

The newly elected Chairman assumed the chair.

APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE SECRETARY

Motion by Noyes second by McMachen to appoint Ferne Haddock executive secretary. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes, McMachen, McMahan, Christian and Robbins.

DESIGNATION OF COMMISSION COUNSEL

Motion by Noyes second by McMachen to designate Paul Bachand and Jenna Schweiss as Commission Counsel. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes, McMachen, McMahan, Christian and Robbins.

PTPSC ANNUAL REPORT-2021

Motion by McMahan second by Christian to approve the PTPSC Annual Report-2021 and authorize the Chairman to sign and submit the report to the South Dakota Secretary of Education. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes, McMachen, McMahan, Christian and Robbins.

PUBLIC COMMENT SDCL 1-25-1

There was no public comment.

PREVIOUS BUSINESS

PTPSC 2021-08 Hearing

EXECUTIVE SESSION SDCL 1-25-2(3)6

Motion by McMahan second by Noyes to go into executive session to discuss legal issues with Commission Counsel. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes, McMachen, McMahan, Christian and Robbins.

Commission went into executive session at approximately 10:01 a.m. CT.

Commission came out of executive session at approximately 10:27 a .m. CT.

PTPSC 2021-08

Motion by McMahan second by Christion that PTPSC 2021-08 be dismissed, and the Chairman be authorized to execute the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law and Order. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes, McMachen, McMahan, Christian and Robbins.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Christian second by Noyes to adjourn. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Christian, and Robbins.

Meeting adjourned at approximately 10:30 a.m. CT.

03/30/2022

Ferne G. Haddock Executive Secretary PTPSC Date