PROFESSIONAL TEACHERS PRACTICES AND STANDARDS COMMISSION

February 11, 2022, @ 9:00 a.m. CT.

1		
2	Location:	MacKay Building, First Floor, Library Commons
3		800 Governors Drive, Pierre, South Dakota
4		
5	Present	David Christian
6		Crystal McMachen, Vice Chairman
7		Paula McMahan, Chairman
8		Ann Noyes
9		Joy Robbins
10		
11	Absent	Kaye Wickard
12		
13	Others	Paul Bachand, Commission Counsel
14	Present:	Jenna Schweiss, Commission Counsel
15		Ferne Haddock-Executive Secretary
16		
17	CALL TO ORE	DER AND ROLL CALL
18		
19	Chairman Mo	cMahan called the meeting to order at approximately 9:00 a.m. CT.
20		
21	Roll call. A qu	uorum of the Commission was present.
22	·	
23	ADOPTION C	OF AGENDA
24		
25	Motion by Cl	hristian second by McMachen to approve the February 11, 2022, agenda. Voice
26	vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Christian, Noyes, Robbins,	
27		and McMahan.
28		
29	APPROVAL C	OF MINUTES
30		
31	Motion by Ro	obbins second by Noyes to approve the December 6, 2021, minutes. Voice vote, all
32		d in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Christian, Noyes, Robbins, McMachen, and
33	McMahan.	
34		
35	ELECTION O	FOFFICERS
36		
37	Chair	rman
38		
39	Christian nor	minated Robbins for Chairman for 2022. Nominations closed. Voice vote for
40	Robbins as C	hairman for 2022. All present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Christian,
41		ins, McMachen, and McMahan.
42		
43	Vice	Chairman

44

45	Robbins nominated Christian for Vice Chairman for 2022. Nominations closed. Voice vote, for
46	Christian as Vice Chairman for 2022. All present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye:
47	Christian, Noyes, Robbins, McMachen, and McMahan.
48	
49	The newly elected Chairman assumed the chair.
50	
51	APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE SECRETARY
52	
53	Motion by Noyes second by McMachen to appoint Ferne Haddock executive secretary. Voice
54	vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes, McMachen, McMahan,
55	Christian and Robbins.
56	
57	DESIGNATION OF COMMISSION COUNSEL
58	
59	Motion by Noyes second by McMachen to designate Paul Bachand and Jenna Schweiss as
60	Commission Counsel. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes,
61	McMachen, McMahan, Christian and Robbins.
62	
63	PTPSC ANNUAL REPORT-2021
64	
65	Motion by McMahan second by Christian to approve the PTPSC Annual Report-2021 and
66	authorize the Chairman to sign and submit the report to the South Dakota Secretary of
67	Education. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes,
68	McMachen, McMahan, Christian and Robbins.
69	
70	PUBLIC COMMENT SDCL 1-25-1
71	
72	There was no public comment.
73	
74	PREVIOUS BUSINESS
75	
76	PTPSC 2021-08 Hearing
77	
78	EXECUTIVE SESSION SDCL 1-25-2(3)6
79	
80	Motion by McMahan second by Noyes to go into executive session to discuss legal issues with
81	Commission Counsel. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes,
82	McMachen, McMahan, Christian and Robbins.
83	
84	Commission went into executive session at approximately 10:01 a.m. CT.
85	
86	Commission came out of executive session at approximately 10:27 a .m. CT.

02/11/2022 PTPSC minutes 2

87 88

PTPSC 2021-08

89 90 91	Motion by McMahan second by Christion that PTPSC 2021-08 be dismissed, and the Chairman be authorized to execute the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law and Order. Voice vote, all
92	present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Noyes, McMachen, McMahan, Christian and
93	Robbins.
94	
95	ADJOURNMENT
96	
97	Motion by Christian second by Noyes to adjourn. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion
98	carried. Voting aye: McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Christian, and Robbins.
99	
100	Meeting adjourned at approximately 10:30 a.m. CT.
101	
102	
103	
104	
105	Forms C. Haddask
106	Ferne G. Haddock Date
107	Executive Secretary PTPSC

02/11/2022 PTPSC minutes 3