# PROFESSIONAL TEACHERS PRACTICES AND STANDARDS COMMISSION

January 25, 2023, @4:15 p.m. CT

Location: MacKay Building, First Floor, MCR 2

800 Governors Drive, Pierre, South Dakota

Present Nichole Bowman Via ZOOM: David Christian

Jean Gunderson Joy Robbins Kaye Wickard

Absent: Alesha Limbo

Crystal McMachen

Via Zoom Paul Bachand, Commission Counsel @ MacKay: Ferne Haddock, Executive Secretary

Others Members of the public present via telephone.

Present:

## **CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL**

Chairman Robbins called the meeting to order at approximately 4:19 p.m. CT.

Roll call. A quorum of the Commission was present.

#### **ADOPTION OF AGENDA**

Motion by Christian second by Wickard to approve the January 25, 2023, agenda. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Motion by Christian second by Bowman to approve the January 18, 2023, minutes as corrected. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

## **PUBLIC COMMENT SDCL 1-25-1**

There was no public comment.

## **2023 Legislative Report**

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION SDCL 1-25-2(3)6**

Motion by Wickard second by Christian to go into executive session to discuss legal issues with Commission Counsel. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

Commission went into executive session at approximately 4:26 p.m. CT.

Commission came out of executive session at approximately 5:06 p.m. CT.

Motion by Christian second by Wickard that the Commission thanks the Department of Education for notifying the Commission of SB 39 and the Amendment, and that the Commission supports the Amendment as presented. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion by Christian second by Bowman to adjourn. Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Bowman, Gunderson, Wickard, Christian, and Robbins.

Meeting adjourned at approximately 5:11 p.m. CT.

Ferne G. Haddock Executive Secretary PTPSC

02/28/2023

01/25/2023 PTPSC minutes 2