January 14, 2021 @ 4:15 p.m. Central Time

Location: MacKay Building, First Floor, Conference Room 3 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, South Dakota

Present Valena Baker via phone David Christian Crystal McMachen Paula McMahan Ann Noyes Joy Robbins Kaye Wickard

OthersPaul Bachand-Commission CounselPresent:Ferne Haddock-Executive Secretary

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Chairman McMahan called the meeting to order at approximately 4:15 p.m. CT.

Roll call. A quorum was present.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Motion by Christian second by Noyes to approve the January 14, 2021, agenda. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion by Wickard second by Robbins to approve the December 8, 2020, minutes as corrected Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS: 2021

Chairman

Robbins nominated Paula McMahan for Chairman.

Motion by Christian second by Robbins that nominations cease, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Paula McMahan for Chairman. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

Vice Chairman

Wickard nominated Crystal McMachen for Vice Chairman.

Motion by Robbins second by Noyes that nominations cease, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Crystal McMachen for Vice-Chairman. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE SECRETARY

Motion by McMachen second by Wickard to appoint Ferne Haddock executive secretary. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

DESIGNATION OF COMMISSION COUNSEL

Motion by Christian second by Noyes to designate Paul Bachand as Commission Counsel. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

2020 ANNUAL REPORT

Motion by Christian second by Wickard to approve the 2020 PTPSC Annual Report and authorize Commission Chairman to sign and submit the report to the South Dakota Secretary of Education. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

PUBLIC COMMENT SDCL 1-25-1

There was no public comment.

New Business

PTPSC 2020-12

PTPSC 2020-13

EXECUTIVE SESSION SDCL 1-25-2(3)6

Motion by McMachen second by Christian to go into executive session to discuss legal issues with Commission Counsel. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

Commission went into executive session at approximately 4:33 p.m. CT.

Chairman McMahan brought the Commission out of executive session at approximately 4:52 p.m. CT.

PTPSC 2020-12

Motion by McMachen second by Christian that the complaint filed in PTPSC 2020-12 be moved to a hearing. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

PTPSC 2020-13

Motion by Christian second by Baker that the complaint filed in PTPSC 2020-13 be moved to a hearing. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Robbins second by Wickard to adjourn. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

Meeting adjourned at approximately 4:57 p.m. CT.

Ferne G. Haddock Executive Secretary PTPSC 03/05/2021