January 14, 2021 4:15 p.m. Central Time 1 2 Location: MacKay Building, First Floor, Conference Room 3 3 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, South Dakota 4 5 Valena Baker Present 6 via phone **David Christian** 7 Crystal McMachen 8 Paula McMahan 9 Ann Noyes 10 Joy Robbins 11 Kaye Wickard 12 13 Others Paul Bachand-Commission Counsel 14 Present: Ferne Haddock-Executive Secretary 15 16 CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL 17 18 Chairman McMahan called the meeting to order at approximately 4:15 p.m. CT. 19 20 Roll call. A quorum was present. 21 22 ADOPTION OF AGENDA 23 24 Motion by Christian second by Noyes to approve the January 14, 2021, agenda. Roll Call vote, 25 all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, 26 Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard. 27 28 **APPROVAL OF MINUTES** 29 30 Motion by Wickard second by Robbins to approve the December 8, 2020, minutes as corrected 31 Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, 32 McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard. 33 34 **ELECTION OF OFFICERS: 2021** 35 36 Chairman 37 38 Robbins nominated Paula McMahan for Chairman. 39 40 Motion by Christian second by Robbins that nominations cease, and a unanimous ballot be cast 41 for Paula McMahan for Chairman. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. 42 Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard. 43

PROFESSIONAL TEACHERS PRACTICES AND STANDARDS COMMISSION TELEPHONIC

44 Vice Chairman

- 45
- 46 Wickard nominated Crystal McMachen for Vice Chairman.
- 47

48 Motion by Robbins second by Noyes that nominations cease, and a unanimous ballot be cast

49 for Crystal McMachen for Vice-Chairman. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion

50 carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

51

52 **APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE SECRETARY**

53

Motion by McMachen second by Wickard to appoint Ferne Haddock executive secretary. Roll
Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen,
McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

57

58 **DESIGNATION OF COMMISSION COUNSEL**

59

Motion by Christian second by Noyes to designate Paul Bachand as Commission Counsel. Roll
 Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen,

- 62 McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.
- 63

64 2020 ANNUAL REPORT

65

66 Motion by Christian second by Wickard to approve the 2020 PTPSC Annual Report and

- authorize Commission Chairman to sign and submit the report to the South Dakota Secretary of
- 68 Education. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian,
- 69 McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.
- 70

71 PUBLIC COMMENT SDCL 1-25-1

72

73 There was no public comment.

- 74
- 75 New Business
- 76 77 **PTPSC 2020-12**
- 7879 **PTPSC 2020-13**
- 80

81 EXECUTIVE SESSION SDCL 1-25-2(3)6

82

83 Motion by McMachen second by Christian to go into executive session to discuss legal issues

84 with Commission Counsel. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye:

85 Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.

86

87 Commission went into executive session at approximately 4:33 p.m. CT.

88	
89	Chairman McMahan brought the Commission out of executive session at approximately 4:52
90	p.m. CT.
91 02	
92 93	PTPSC 2020-12
93 94	Motion by McMachen second by Christian that the complaint filed in PTPSC 2020-12 be moved
95	to a hearing. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker,
96	Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.
97	
98	PTPSC 2020-13
99	
100	Motion by Christian second by Baker that the complaint filed in PTPSC 2020-13 be moved to a
101	hearing. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian,
102	McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and Wickard.
103	
104	ADJOURNMENT
105 106	Motion by Robbins second by Wickard to adjourn. Roll Call vote, all present voted in favor.
100	Motion by Robbins second by Wickard to adjourn. Ron Can vote, an present voted in favor. Motion carried. Voting aye: Baker, Christian, McMachen, McMahan, Noyes, Robbins, and
107	Wickard.
100	
110	Meeting adjourned at approximately 4:57 p.m. CT.
111	
112	
113	
114	
115 116	Ferne G. Haddock Date
117	Executive Secretary PTPSC