

Professional Administrators Practices and Standards Commission

January 12, 2024, @9:00 a.m. CT

VIRTUAL

Location: MacKay Building, First Floor, Conference Room 1

800 Governors Drive, Pierre South Dakota

Present: Jennifer Knecht via ZOOM Chantal Ligtenberg

Daniel Martin Darla Mayer

Linda Kirchhevel, Vice Chair 2024 Peter Books, Chairman 2024

Absent: Erin Brenden

Via Zoom Paul Bachand, Commission Counsel @MacKay Ferne Haddock, Executive Secretary

Call to Order and Roll Call

Chairman Books called the meeting to order at approximately 9:06 a.m. CT.

Roll Call

A quorum of the commission was present.

Adoption of Agenda

Motion by Ligtenberg second by Mayer to adopt the January 12, 2024, agenda. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Knecht, Ligtenberg, Martin, Mayer, Kirchhevel, and Books. Motion carried.

Approval of Minutes

Motion by Mayer second by Kirchhevel to approve the December 21, 2023, minutes. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Knecht, Martin, Mayer, Kirchhevel, and Books. Motion carried.

Public Comment (SDCL 1-25-1)

No public comment.

Election of officers

Election of Chairman

Martin nominated Books for Chairman for 2024.

Motion by Ligtenberg second by Knecht that nominations cease, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Books for Chairman 2024. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Knecht, Ligtenberg, Martin, Mayer, Kirchhevel, and Books. Motion carried.

Election of Vice Chairman

Martin nominated Kirchhevel for Vice Chairman 2024.

Motion by Books second by Martin that nominations cease, and a unanimous ballot be cast. for Kirchhevel for Vice Chairman 2024. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Knecht, Ligtenberg, Martin, Mayer, Kirchhevel, and Books. Motion carried.

Appoint Executive Secretary

Motion by Ligtenberg second by Knecht to appoint Ferne Haddock executive secretary. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Knecht, Ligtenberg, Martin, Mayer, Kirchhevel, and Books. Motion carried.

Designate Commission Counsel

Motion by Kirchhevel second by Books to designate Paul Bachand and Kendra Mulder as Commission Counsel. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Knecht, Ligtenberg, Martin, Mayer, Kirchhevel, and Books. Motion carried.

PAPSC Annual Report-2023: (SDCL 13-43-39)

Motion by Ligtenberg second by Mayer to approve the PAPSC Annual Report-2023 and authorize the Chairman to sign the report and submit the report to the South Dakota Board of Education Standards. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Knecht, Ligtenberg, Martin, Mayer, Kirchhevel, and Books. Motion carried.

New Business

PAPSC 2023-13

01/12/2024 PAPSC Minutes 2

Executive Session (SDCL 1-25-2)

Motion by Martin second by Kirchhevel to go into executive session to discuss legal issues with Commission Counsel. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Knecht, Ligtenberg, Martin, Mayer, Kirchhevel, and Books. Motion carried.

Commission went into executive session at approximately 9:20 a.m. CT.

Commission came out of executive session at approximately 10:09 a.m. CT.

PAPSC 2023-13

Ferne Haddock-Executive Secretary

Motion by Martin second by Mayer that the complaint filed in PAPSC 2023-13 be moved to a hearing. Roll call vote: All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Knecht, Ligtenberg, Martin, Mayer, Kirchhevel, and Books. Motion carried.

Adjournment

Motion Knecht second by Kirchhevel to adjourn. Voice vote. All present voted in favor. Voting aye: Knecht, Ligtenberg, Martin, Mayer, Kirchhevel, and Books. Motion carried.
Meeting adjourned at approximately 10:10 a.m. CT.

01/30/2024

01/12/2024 PAPSC Minutes 3