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Boyd, Kate

Subject: FW: South Dakota Board of Cosmetology Instructor Education Request

From: Fallon Helm [mailto:falloneichler@yahoo.com]
Sent: Wednesday, September 30, 2015 1:42 PM

To: Boyd, Kate

Subject: South Dakota Board of Cosmetology Instructor Education Request

South Dakota Board of Cosmetology-

I would like to submit a request to the South Dakota Board of Cosmetology Commission to approve 700
hours of instructor education with The Salon Professional Academy in combination with the work
experience, instructor examination, and instructional demonstration: regarding the commission's current
requirements to obtain a Senior Instructor license. Also, requesting that the commission allow 300 hours of
the required 1000 hours of instructor education for one to just under three years of experience. The 700
hundred hours of instructor education would include but would not be limited to detailed instruction in the
following departments:

Admissions Training, Cosmetology Educator Training, Academy Policy and Progress Planning, Academy
Operations, Education Policy and Planning for Educators, Orientation, Operations, Student Training

Procedures, Substitute Educator Orientation and checklist, Substitute Educator Policies and Procedures,
Director of Education Training Checklist, EducationPolicy and Plan For for Academy Operations Director.

Please let me know if there is anything else | can do or provide. Thank You.

Fallon Helm

Revive Day Spa,INC.
605-228-4437
falloneichler@yahoo.com
379979 N. Shore Dr.
Aberdeen, SD 57401
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SOUTH DAKOTA COSMETOLOGY COMMISSION

INSTRUCTOR EDUCATION & LICENSURE

The South Dakota Cosmetology Commission licenses both senior and junior instructors. In order to qualify for
a junior instructor license, the individual must be licensed as a cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician in
South Dakota and complete the following:

1000 hours of salon experience

South Dakota Instructor State Laws/Rules Exam

12-hour initial instructor on-line education
An individual with a junior instructor license must work for 1000 hours under the supervision of a senior
instructor. After completing the 1000 hours of supervised teaching, the junior instructor reapplies for their
senior instructor license. If the senior instructor license is earned by going through the junior instructor
program, the individual is NOT required to take the NIC Instructor State Board exams consisting of Instructor
theory and practical examinations.

In some cases an individual would like to become licensed as a senior instructor without going through the
Junior instructor program. In those cases, the individual can pursue a senior instructor license through a

combination of prior work experience and independent educational courses that are preapproved by the
Commission.

Shown below is the current Commission policy regarding work experience and alternate education for an
individual who wants to pursue a senior instructor without going through the junior instructor program.
Following that are the South Dakota Cosmetology laws and rules pertaining to licensing of instructors.

WORK EXPERIENCE & ALTERNATE EDUCATION FOR SENIOR INSTRUCTOR LICENSE
(updated 7/14/15)

Work Experience Credit and Alternate Educational courses for a Senior Instructor License — (used if
NOT in a school instructor education program)

In order to accommodate those that cannot attend a traditional cosmetology school to earn their senior instructor
license the following policy has been adopted.

A combination of any of these areas will be accepted. However, the applicant needs to submit a proposed
education plan to the Commission for approval with their application. The license will not be issued until
1,000 hours are earned either through experience or education combination.

The following work experience may be recognized in lieu of educational courses.

3-5 years = 500 hours

6-10 years = 600 hours
11-14 years = 700 hours

15 or more years = 800 hours
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The work experience needs to be documented and submitted with the senior instructor license application. This
work experience will also be recognized for those who plan to attend a school to gain the instructor education.
Not recognized is experience as a product representative.

The following alternative instructor education courses will be recognized.

1. Distance education courses. All Milady faculty online courses have been pre-approved with 30 hours
earned for each online course completed. Other online course may be pre-approved by the Commission if
an applicant submits detailed information on the online course. Certificates earned will need to be submitted
to the office.

2. Independent learning courses. Pre-approved are Milady Master Education textbook and workbook and
Pivot Point Master Educator textbook and workbook. Each chapter completed with accompanying
workbook will earn 5 hours. No more than 75 hours may be earned this way. Workbooks will be turned into
the Commission as documentation. Other courses may be pre-approved by the Commission if the applicant
submits detailed information on the course.

The following on-line instructor education program providers have been preapproved by the Commission.

MILADY
http://milady.cengage.com/continuing-education.asp

Cosmetology Education Group, Bloomington, MN
www.cosmetologyedgroup.com
cosmetologygroup@gmail.com

AACS

http.//www.aacstraining.org/?utm source=1276&utm medium=email&utm campaign=perpetualmarketing
mackenziek(@maxknowledge.com

PIVOT POINT EDUCATOR PROGRAM
http://www.pivot-point.edu.au/index.php/courses/teacher-training/

3. Experience with a mentor will earn 1 hour for each hour in the mentor’s classroom with a minimum of 4
hours and no more than 50 hours earned. The mentor will need to document the hours and submit the
documentation to the Commission.

Testing
The following exams will need to be taken after completing the 1,000 of required instructor training
(combining education and work experience.) There is an $80 fee to take these exams.

NIC Instructor Theory Exam
NIC Instructor Practical Exam
South Dakota Cosmetology Instructor Laws/Rules Exam
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LAWS & ADMINISTRATIVE RULES REGARDING INSTRUCTORS
LAWS

36-15-25. Inmstructor license required to teach--Senior instructor requirements--Conditional license--
Areas of instruction. No person may teach in a school unless that person is licensed by the commission as an
instructor. Any person may qualify and be licensed by the commission as a senior instructor for cosmetology,
nail technology, or esthetics, as applicable, upon application made to the commission. The application shall be
accompanied by satisfactory evidence that the applicant:

(1) Possesses the qualifications required by § 36-15-15; (Note: This refers to age & high school)

(2)  Currently holds a valid cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician license, as applicable;

(3)  Has complied with any instructor education as prescribed by § 36-15-26.2;

(4)  Has completed the requirements as a junior instructor set forth in § 36-15-26 or has at least one
year of teaching experience as a licensed instructor from another state in cosmetology, nail technology, or
esthetics, as applicable; and

(5)  Has passed an examination prescribed by the commission.

However, the applicant may receive the license conditionally, dependent on completing instructor education
and passing the examination as prescribed by the commission in rules adopted pursuant to chapter 1-26.

A senior instructor with a cosmetologist license may instruct in any practice of cosmetology. A senior
instructor with a nail technician license may only instruct in the practice of nail technology. A senior instructor
with an esthetician license may only instruct in the practice of esthetics.

SDCL 36-15-25.1. Senior instructor's license--Annual expiration and renewal. Any senior instructor
license issued by the commission pursuant to this chapter expires annually on a date set by the commission in
rules promulgated pursuant to chapter 1-26, and is renewable annually. The application shall be accompanied

by the fee required in this chapter and proof of completion of any required commission-approved instructor
education pursuant to § 36-15-26.2.

SDCL 36-15-26. Junior instructor's license--Requirements--Conditional license--Areas of instruction.
Any person may qualify and be licensed by the commission as a junior instructor for cosmetology, nail
technology, or esthetics, as applicable, upon application made to the commission. The application shall be
accompanied by satisfactory evidence that such applicant:

(1)  Possesses the qualifications required by § 36-15-15;

(2)  Currently holds a valid cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician license, as applicable;

(3)  Has complied with any instructor education as required by § 36-15-26.2;

(4)  Will be working and providing education in a licensed school in this state under the supervision
of a senior instructor;

(5)  Has completed at least one thousand hours salon experience as a licensed cosmetologist, nail
technician, or esthetician, as applicable; and

(6) Has passed an examination prescribed by the commission.
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However, the applicant may receive the license conditionally, dependent on completing instructor education
and passing the examination as prescribed by the commission in rules adopted pursuant to chapter 1-26.

A junior instructor with a cosmetologist license may instruct in any practice of cosmetology and shall be
supervised by a senior cosmetologist instructor. A junior instructor with a nail technician license may only
instruct in the practice of nail technology and shall be supervised by a senior cosmetologist instructor or a senior
nail technician instructor. A junior instructor with an esthetician license may only instruct in the practice of
esthetics and shall be supervised by a senior cosmetologist instructor or a senior esthetician instructor.

SDCL 36-15-26.2. Education for instructors. The commission may adopt rules pursuant to chapter 1-26
pertaining to educational requirements for instructor licenses and the renewal of instructor licenses including the
kinds and subjects of education and the number of hours of education required. The commission may also
substitute experience in addition to or in lieu of educational requirements. The commission may set a fee
through rules adopted pursuant to chapter 1-26 to cover the cost of verifying the required continuing education.
The commission may offer a course and charge a registration fee to cover the costs.

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

20:42:08:01. Junior instructor education for initial licensure. To receive a junior instructor license, the
applicant shall satisfactorily complete at least twelve hours of commission-approved education courses for
instructors.

20:42:08:01.01. Junior instructor education program. If licensed as a junior instructor, the licensee must be
enrolled in a commission-approved instructor education program that provides 1,000 clock hours of instruction.

The instructor education program shall include theory education and practice teaching in both the
classroom and the clinic services in all areas of cosmetology, nail technology, or esthetics, as applicable. A
textbook and workbook on instructor education shall be used as part of the education. Online educational
courses may be part of the education program.

If the licensee discontinues the instructor education program, the instructor license immediately becomes
invalid. If the instructor education program is discontinued, the applicable school shall contact the commission.
The commission may grant a waiver of the junior instructor education program if the applicant has a teaching
certificate from the South Dakota Department of Education.

20:42:08:03. Senior instructor education for initial licensure. To receive a senior instructor license, the
applicant shall successfully complete a program of 1,000 clock hours of commission-approved instructor
education.

If a licensed senior instructor is not available to work in a school, the commission may conditionally
approve a senior instructor license to an applicant dependent upon the applicant completing the required hours
of education within six months of receiving the license. If the education is not completed successfully before the
end of the six months, the license immediately becomes invalid.
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FLORIDA NAIL TECHNICIAN AND ESTHETICIAN RECIPROCITY APPLICATIONS

36-15-19.2. Licensure by reciprocity--Requirements. The commission may waive the
examination required in § 36-15-19.1, 36-15-19.3, or in 36-15-19.5 upon application made to the
commission that the applicant possesses the qualifications required pursuant to § 36-15-15, and that:

(1)  The applicant holds a currently valid license issued by another state, district, or
foreign country and the requirements of that state, district, or foreign country at the time of the
examination were equal to or not less than those required by this state;

(2)  The applicant has passed an examination acceptable to the commission in
cosmetology, nail technology, or esthetics, as applicable;

(3)  The applicant shall take the prescribed written examination on the provisions of this
chapter and rules adopted pursuant to this chapter. The commission shall determine the contents of
the examination; and

(4)  The application is accompanied by the fee provided for in this chapter.

Note: 36-15-19.1, 36-15-19.3 and 36-15.19.5 deal with State Board exams and
issuance/renewal of licenses.

Note: 36-15-15 deals with age, high school graduation and complying with all rules
adopted by the Commission regarding qualifications, standards and license and
application requirements.

36-15-22. Temporary permit for out-of-state cosmetologist, nail technician or esthetician--
Duration of permit. Any person who holds a current valid license from another state or foreign
country in the practices of cosmetology, nail technology, or esthetics may apply to the commission
for a temporary permit to practice cosmetology, nail technology, or esthetics, as applicable. The
application shall be accompanied with evidence satisfactory to the commission that the applicant
possesses those qualifications required pursuant to §§ 36-15-15 and 36-15-19.2. The application
shall be accompanied by the fee required in this chapter. A temporary permit is valid until the date
of the next regular scheduled examination in cosmetology, nail technology, or esthetics, as
applicable. If the holder of a temporary permit takes the examination at the scheduled time, the
commission shall extend the temporary permit until the result of the examination is mailed to the
applicant. If an applicant is not excused from the examination by the commission or fails the
examination, the temporary permit is invalid and may not be extended or reissued.




