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UI Trust Fund Projection – 2014 & 2015
as of December 29, 2014

* Actual data through November 2014.
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UI Financial Projections - Quarterly Summary
(in Millions)

1st Qtr 2nd Qtr 3rd Qtr 4th Qtr Total
2014

Contributions/Interest In $4.9 $19.2 $12.3 $7.8 $44.3
Benefits Out $12.1 $5.7 $3.5 $5.6 $26.8

Trust Fund $58.7 $72.6 $81.4 $84.6 $84.6

1st Qtr 2nd Qtr 3rd Qtr 4th Qtr Total
2015

Contributions/Interest In $3.8 $14.7 $9.3 $6.1 $33.9
Benefits Out $14.0 $6.9 $4.7 $6.4 $32.0

Trust Fund $74.4 $82.2 $86.8 $86.5 $86.5



Short‐time Compensation (STC)

• Also known as worksharing or shared work.
• Allows employers to maintain their workforce by 
reducing hours worked in lieu of layoffs. Affected 
workers receive a partial unemployment benefit 
for hours lost.

• Estimated 225 employers would use the program.
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Short‐time Compensation (STC)

• Employer participation is voluntary.
• Employers reduce hours in lieu of layoffs.
• Employers may not reduce health or retirement 
benefits of those impacted.

• Employees receive a prorated share of benefits 
they would have received if totally unemployed.

• Employees must be available for work.
• Employees may participate in state‐approved 
training programs.
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STC Example

An employee normally works full time, 40 hours a week 
at $15/hour, earning $600/week. The employee’s wage 
credits qualify for a weekly unemployment benefit 
amount (WBA) of $300.

The employer reduces work hours by 40% equaling 16 
hours. The employee works and earns wages equaling 
$360.
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STE Example

• Under current UI law, employee’s earnings are 
greater than their WBA. The employee is not 
eligible for benefits. 

• Under the Short‐Time Compensation/Workshare
program, the employee receives $120 in benefits 
in addition to wages earned. The employer 
account is charged for the benefit.
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STC Participation
28 states have a worksharing program:
• Arizona
• Arkansas
• California
• Colorado
• Connecticut
• District of 
Columbia

• Florida
• Iowa
• Kansas

• Maine
• Maryland
• Massachusetts
• Michigan
• Minnesota
• Missouri
• Nebraska
• New Hampshire
• New York
• Ohio

• Oklahoma
• Oregon
• Pennsylvania
• Rhode Island
• Texas
• Vermont
• Virginia
• Washington
• Wisconsin
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STC State Plans
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• Minimum reduction of staff
• 2 employees (14)
• 10% of workforce (7)
• 3 employees (2)
• 5 employees (2)
• 15% of workforce (1)
• 20 employees (1)
• 50 employees (1)

• Required reduction of work
• 10 – 50% (7)
• 20 – 40% (6)
• 10 – 40% (5)
• 10 – 60% (5)
• 20 – 50% (3)
• 10 – 50% (1)
• 15 – 45% (1 )

• 21 States allow employers to submit one‐year STC plans; 7 States 
allow STC plans for a maximum of six‐months. 



STC State Plans

• The majority of states do not have any special 
financing. One state adds a one to two percent surtax 
if the employer’s reserve is negative; another applies 
an additional one percent tax above the current rate.

• Most states require employers to be current on the 
submittal of reports and payments before eligible.

• Several states do not allow employers with a negative 
reserve or new employers who are not eligible to be 
experienced‐rated to participate.

• A few states charge all benefits to the STC employer 
regardless of their base period charging rules.
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Common Paymaster

• Related corporations or companies reporting payroll 
under one unemployment insurance tax account.

• The common paymaster is responsible for the 
reporting of wages and payment of contributions and 
is considered the chargeable employer for any 
benefits paid.

• Estimated cost and participation is indeterminable.
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Common Paymaster Example

• An employee works concurrently for two related 
corporations, ABC Corp. and XYZ Corp. The 
employee earns $20,000 a year from each 
employer. Both employers have a UI tax of 1.0 
percent. Taxes are assessed on the first $15,000 
in wages.
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Common Paymaster Example

ABC Corp. 
Wages

XYZ Corp. 
Wages

Total 
Wages

UI Tax Due 
Under Current 

Law

UI Tax Due 
Under 

Common 
Paymaster

1st Qtr 2015 $5,000 $5,000 $10,000 $100 $100
2nd Qtr 2015 $5,000 $5,000 $10,000 $100 $50
3rd Qtr 2015 $5,000 $5,000 $10,000 $50
4th Qtr 2015 $5,000 $5,000 $10,000

$300 $150
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• Under current UI law, each employer would pay $150 in 
contributions.

• Under common paymaster, each employer would pay 
$75 in contributions.



Common Paymaster Participation

• Arizona
• California
• Florida
• Georgia
• Illinois
• Indiana
• Louisiana
• Maine

• Maryland
• Massachusetts
• Michigan
• Missouri
• Nebraska
• New Jersey
• New Mexico
• New York

• North Carolina
• Oklahoma
• Oregon
• South Carolina
• Tennessee
• Washington
• West Virginia
• Wisconsin
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24 states allow common paymaster arrangements:


