## Extraordinary Cost Oversight Board Minutes May 9, 2018 - 12:30 PM CDT MacKay - Conference Room 4 Second Floor

## • Member's Present

- o Brian Jandahl, President
- o Brian Lueders, Vice President
- Kelly Glodt excused at 2:41 PM CDT
- o Jenifer Heggelund
- o Trent Osborne
- o Kathy Schmeichel
- o Marcia Sherman
- o Linda Turner
- o Fallon Woods

## Member's Absent

- o Denise Perry
- Others Present
  - Representative Duvall
  - o Tamara Darnall
  - o Bobbi Leiferman
  - Olivia Waggoner

The meeting was called to order at approximately 12:31 p.m., May 9, 2018 by President Jandahl.

Motion by Glodt, second by Schmeichel to amend the agenda by adding two additional items to the agenda. The first item being to add a motion to enter into Executive Session after the Report on Legislative Study. The second item being to add a motion to exit out of Executive Session before Recommendations on Applications. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Glodt to approve the minutes from the May 9, 2017 meeting, seconded by Schmeichel. The motion carried unanimously.

Bobbi Leiferman provided a status report on the Extraordinary Cost Fund (ECF). Bobbi noted that this is the second year in a row that there has not been enough funding to cover all requests. The total appropriation available for ECF for FY2018 was \$4,094,662 and if all the districts that applied were approved for funding for amounts requesting, the fund would be in deficit to FY2019 a total of \$(239,446).

Tamara Darnall informed the Board of the Extraordinary Cost Fund of Special Education 2018 Interim Study, and provided a brief introduction of the scope of this study.

A motion was made by Lueders and seconded by Osborne to go into executive session to consider applications at approximately 12:50. The motion carried unanimously.

President Jandahl declared the Board out of executive session at approximately 3:00 p.m.

A motion to not recommend for approval the amount requested for Brookings in the amount of \$105,981 due to growth of the fund balance exceeding the amount requested as a result of Extraordinary Cost Fund funding from FY2017 was made by Turner and seconded by Osborne with Lueders abstaining. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Turner, seconded by Lueders, to recommend for approval the Smee School District, whose fund balance grew, will be reduced by the amount of the increase in the fund balance that exceeds zero as a result of such payment as a result of Extraordinary Cost Fund funding from FY2017. The motion carried unanimously with Schmeichel abstaining.

Motion by Turner, seconded by Schmeichel, to recommend for approval any district whose fund balance grew as a result of such payment as a result of Extraordinary Cost Fund funding from FY2017 will be reduced by the amount of the increase in the fund balance that exceeds zero. The motion carried unanimously. The below amount of \$1,101,870 was recommended for these 9 districts.

District Name
Florence 14-1
Avon 04-1
Mount Vernon 17-3
Marion 60-3
McCook Central 43-7
Estelline 28-2
Lead-Deadwood 40-1
Garretson 49-4
Tri-Valley 49-6

A motion to recommend for approval the amount requested for the following 14 districts in the amount of \$2,864,125 was made by Turner and seconded by Heggelund. The motion carried unanimously.

District Name
Baltic 49-1
Belle Fourche 09-1
Bon Homme 04-2
Bridgewater-Emery 30-3
Canistota 43-1
Dupree 64-2
Edgemont 23-1
Flandreau 50-3
McLaughlin 15-2
Milbank 25-4
Mitchell 17-2
Sioux Valley 05-5
Tea Area 41-5
Wilmot 54-7

Motion by Osborne, seconded by Sherman, to revise current risk rubric to include on time submission as a review factor. The motion carried unanimously. The board made a recommendation for the following districts to be reviewed based on the risk rubric: Canistota, Lead-Deadwood, McLaughlin, Smee, Tea, and Wilmot.

Linda Turner presented the current membership list and discussed the upcoming term expirations with the board. Board President Brian Jandahl is at term-end, and was recognized for his service on the Extraordinary Cost Board. It was recommended that Fallon Woods be moved to a voting member position and recommendations be presented to Don Kirkegaard for appointment.

President Jandahl called for nominations for President. Vice-President Lueders was nominated to serve as president. No other nominations were offered. Motion was made by Heggelund to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Vice-President Lueders, second by Sherman. The motion carried unanimously.

President Jandahl called for nomination for Vice-President. Glodt was nominated, no other nominations were offered. Motion was made by Heggelund and seconded by Schmeichel to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Glodt. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion to adjourn was made at approximately 3:15 p.m. by Sherman and seconded by Osborne. The motion carried unanimously.

