
Department of Transportation 
Office of Legal Counsel 
700 East Broadway Avenue  
Pierre, South Dakota 57501-2586    605/773-3262 
FAX: 605/773-4442 

MEMORANDUM 

TO: Patricia Saukel 

FROM: Karla L. Engle 

DATE:  November 13, 2017 

RE: November 21, 2017, Commission Meeting 

The Department of Transportation requests that the Transportation Commission 
propose a hearing date to consider amendment of the following rules: 

• 70:01:02:13  Brule County speed zone rule
• 70:01:02:17  Charles Mix County speed zone rule
• 70:01:02:33  Hand County speed zone rule

A copy of the proposed rule revisions is enclosed with this memo. 
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 70:01:02:13.  Brule County. The following are the maximum speeds on certain 

highways in Brule County: 

 (1)  Interstate Highway 90 Business Loop through Chamberlain beginning at the 

west boundary line of Brule County 0.52 mile west of the Missouri River American 

Legion Memorial Bridge, then southeasterly for 0.5 0.4 mile, 45 miles per hour; then 

southeasterly for 0.95 mile 1.15 miles along King Street, 30 miles per hour; then 

southeasterly for 0.45 0.4 mile, 45 miles per hour; then southeasterly for 2.58 miles, 55 

miles per hour; 

 (2)  Interstate Highway 90 Business Loop (truck traffic only) beginning 0.3 mile 

west of the west end of the Missouri River Bridge at Chamberlain, then east for 0.2 mile, 

30 miles per hour; then east for 0.1 mile, 15 miles per hour; then east to the east end of 

the Missouri River Bridge, 10 miles per hour; then east for 0.1 mile, 15 miles per hour; 

 (3)  State Trunk Highway 50 beginning at the junction with Interstate Highway 90 

Business Loop in Chamberlain, proceeding north on Courtland 0.45 mile to the 

intersection with Main Street, 20 miles per hour; then north for 0.65 mile to a point 200 

feet east of the entrance to St. Joseph Indian School, 35 miles per hour; then east for 0.2 

mile, 45 miles per hour; 

 (4)  State Trunk Highway 45 beginning at the south right-of-way line of Interstate 

Highway 90, Exit 284, then north and northwesterly through Kimball 0.5 mile, 30 miles 

per hour; then northwesterly for 0.63 miles, 45 miles per hour. 

 Source: SL 1975, ch 16, § 1; 4 SDR 79, effective May 24, 1978; 5 SDR 51, 5 SDR 

53, effective January 3, 1979; 6 SDR 109, effective May 29, 1980; 7 SDR 1, effective 

July 20, 1980; 13 SDR 129, 13 SDR 134, effective July 1, 1987; 16 SDR 40, effective 
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September 7, 1989; 17 SDR 161, effective April 28, 1991; 23 SDR 180, effective May 1, 

1997; 31 SDR 165, effective May 11, 2005. 

 General Authority: SDCL 32-25-7. 

 Law Implemented: SDCL 32-25-7. 

70:01:02:17.  Charles Mix County. The following are the maximum speeds on certain 

highways in Charles Mix County: 

 (1)  State Trunk Highway 50 beginning 0.5 mile northwest of the junction of State 

Trunk Highway 50 and State Trunk Highway 46 in Wagner, then southeast for 0.5 mile, 

40 miles per hour; then east on State Trunk Highway 46 beginning 1.20 miles west of the 

junction of State Trunk Highway 46 and State Trunk Highway 50, then east 0.69 mile, 55 

miles per hour; then east 0.25 mile, 40 miles per hour; then east 1.62 miles, 30 miles per 

hour; the east 0.25 mile, 45 miles per hour; 

 (2)  State Trunk Highway 50 beginning one-half mile east of the intersection with 

Charles Mix County Highway GL29BM and ending at the intersection, 35 miles per 

hour; 

 (3)  U.S. Highway 18 and U.S. Highway 281 from the west Charles Mix County 

line, then east for 1.75 miles past Pickstown to the junction with State Trunk Highway 

46, 45 miles per hour; 

 (4)  State Trunk Highway 44 through Platte beginning 0.6 mile west of the junction 

with State Trunk Highway 45, then east for 0.25 mile, 45 miles per hour; then east for 

0.95 mile, 30 miles per hour; then east for 0.43 mile, 45 miles per hour; 

 (5)  State Trunk Highway 45 through Platte beginning at the junction of State 

Trunk Highway 44 and State Trunk Highway 45, then north for 0.32 mile, 20 miles per 
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hour; then north for 0.46 mile, 30 miles per hour; then north for 0.55 mile, 45 miles per 

hour; 

 (6)  U.S. Corps of Engineers roads located in the Fort Randall Dam Tailrace Area, 

beginning at U.S. 18-281 in the northwest quarter of section 8, township 95 north, range 

65 west of the fifth principal meridian, extending southerly throughout the entire area, 35 

miles per hour, as posted; 

 (7)  U.S. Corps of Engineers roads located in the Fort Randall Dam Spillway Area, 

beginning at U.S. 18-281 in the northwest quarter of section 9, township 95 north, range 

65 west of the fifth principal meridian, extending southerly to and throughout the entire 

area, 35 or 25 miles per hour, as posted; 

 (8)  U.S. Corps of Engineers roads located in the Fort Randall Dam North Point 

Area, bounded on the south by Lake Francis Case, on the east by U.S. 18-281, on the 

north and west by the U.S. government boundary, extending to and throughout the entire 

area, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, and 45 miles per hour, as posted; 

 (9)  U.S. Corps of Engineers roads located in the Fort Randall Dam White Swan 

Area, beginning approximately 3,290 feet south of the northwest corner of section 33, 

township 96 north, range 66 west of the fifth principal meridian, extending southerly 

toward Lake Francis Case, 25 miles per hour; 

 (10)  U.S. Corps of Engineers roads located in the Fort Randall Dam Pease Creek 

Area, beginning at the west line of section 11, township 96 north, range 67 west of the 

fifth principal meridian, extending westerly and southerly throughout the entire area, 15 

and 20 miles per hour, as posted; 
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 (11)  U.S. Corps of Engineers roads located in the Fort Randall Dam North 

Wheeler Area, beginning at the north line of section 1, township 96 north, range 68 west 

of the fifth principal meridian, extending southerly throughout the entire area, 25 miles 

per hour; 

 70:01:02:33.  Hand County. The following are the maximum speeds on certain 

highways in Hand County: 

 (1)  Repealed; 

 (2)  U.S. Highway 14 beginning 100 feet west of the northwest corner of section 6, 

township 111 north, range 65 west of the fifth principal meridian in Wessington, then east 

100 feet, 45 miles per hour; 

 (3)  U.S. Highway 14 beginning at the south junction of U.S. Highway 14 and State 

Trunk Highway 45 in Miller, then east 0.5 0.9 mile, 35 miles per hour; then east 0.4 mile, 

40 miles per hour; then east 1.24 miles, 55 miles per hour; then east through St. 

Lawrence, 0.45 mile, 45 miles per hour; then east 0.4 mile, 55 miles per hour; 

 (4)  State Trunk Highway 26 beginning 0.1 mile west of the northwest corner of 

section 14, township 115 north, range 69 west of the fifth principal meridian, then east 

0.2 mile, 45 miles per hour; 

 (5)  State Trunk Highway 45 beginning 1.20 miles north of the north junction of 

U.S. Highway 14 and State Trunk Highway 45 in Miller, then south 0.88 mile, 55 miles 

per hour; then south 0.32 mile, 50 miles per hour; then south from the junction with U.S. 

Highway 14 for 0.05 mile, 50 miles per hour; then south 0.32 mile, 40 miles per hour; 

then south 0.44 mile, 30 miles per hour; then south on State Trunk Highway 45 for 0.26 
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mile, 25 miles per hour; then south 0.31 mile, 45 miles per hour; then south 1.27 miles, 

55 miles per hour; 

 (6)  U.S. Highway 14 beginning at the north intersection with State Trunk Highway 

45 at Miller, then west for 0.20 mile, 45 miles per hour; then west for 0.40 mile, 55 miles 

per hour. 

 Source: SL 1975, ch 16, § 1; 6 SDR 109, effective May 29, 1980; 7 SDR 25, 

effective September 22, 1980; 13 SDR 159, effective May 3, 1987; 13 SDR 129, 13 SDR 

134, effective July 1, 1987; 22 SDR 165, effective June 2, 1996; 24 SDR 165, effective 

May 31, 1998; 29 SDR 66, effective November 18, 2002. 

 General Authority: SDCL 32-25-7. 

 Law Implemented: SDCL 32-25-7. 
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