TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION CONFERENCE CALL MEETING MINUTES APRIL 12, 2018 – 9:00 A.M. BECKER-HANSEN BUILDING – 700 EAST BROADWAY PIERRE, SD

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT

VIA CONFERENCE CALL: Kyle White, Chairman

Ron Rosenboom, Member Mike Vehle, Member Kim Vanneman, Member

Rod Fouberg, Member Don Roby, Member (joined meeting at 9:04 a.m.)

Kathy Zander, Vice Chair

Larry A. Nelson, Member (joined meeting at 9:10 a.m.)

DOT STAFF PRESENT: Mark Leiferman, Sam Weisgram, Bonnie Olson, and

Patricia Saukel

DOT STAFF PRESENT VIA

CONFERENCE CALL: Becky Janssen and Mike Behm

OTHERS PRESENT: Bob Mercer – press

OTHERS PRESENT

VIA CONFERENCE CALL: Mark Claussen – FHWA and Becky Hedman – AGC (joined

at 9:06 a.m.)

Chairman White called the meeting of the Transportation Commission (the "Commission") to order at 9:00 a.m. Roll call was taken and a quorum was determined.

Chairman White opened the floor to Commission members to disclose potential conflicts of interest and to present requests for waivers pursuant to South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) chapter 3-23.

No conflicts of interest were disclosed and no waivers were requested.

Don Roby joined the meeting at 9:04 a.m.

Sam Weisgram of Project Development presented the following bid letting results:

March 29, 2018

Shared Use Path

05CJ P TAPU(17) Sharpe Enterprises, Inc. City of Presho

Lyman County \$264,849.20

The Department requested the Commission defer any decision on this bid opening until the next Commission meeting.

The March 29, 2018, bid award was moved to the next Commission meeting.

April 4, 2018

Grading, Structures (173' Cont. Concrete Bridge & 9 Box Culverts), Interim Surfacing, & Permanent Signing

1 036L NH 0018(179)402 Bowes Construction, Inc. US18 from US81 to SD19 Hutchinson, Turner County \$17,483,650.16

Rehabilitation of crossing surface and sidewalk for pedestrians, PE, Grading, & Signal Relocation

2 04CK PP-PS 0045(51)111 Morris Inc. Hand County \$175,571.35

SD45 - In Miller, crossing 189756B, RCP&E Railroad

PCC Pavement & Asphalt Shoulder Repair

3 05LF NH 0043(20) Custer, Fall River, Pennington County Complete Concrete, Inc. Dba Complete Contracting \$2,247,305.80 Various Routes in the Custer Area

Cold Milling Asphalt Concrete & Asphalt Concrete Resurfacing

4 05TU NH-P 0019(43)0 Spencer Quarries Incorporated

Clay County \$6,346,537.28

SD19 from the Missouri River, to Vermillion and from Vermillion to SD46

Asphalt Surface Treatment (Chip Seal)

5 05KX NH-P 0011(104) Brown, Edmunds, Faulk, McPherson County
Jensen Rock & Sand, Inc. \$2,118,133.84
Various Routes in the Aberdeen Area

Asphalt Surface Treatment (Chip Seal)

Simon Contractors of South Dakota, Inc. 185th Street from US83 at Onida, east 7 miles to 311th Ave Sully County \$322,099.61

Asphalt Surface Treatment (Chip Seal)

7 05L4 NH-P 0031(34) Faulk, Haakon, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Potter, Stanley County Jensen Rock & Sand, Inc. \$1,380,176.10 Various Routes in the Pierre Area

Asphalt Surface Treatment & Crack Sealing

8 05KN, 05L8 P 0073(72)0, NH-P 0033(25)
Jensen Rock & Sand, Inc.
Various Locations in the Winner Area

Bennett, Jackson, Tripp County \$721,921.04

Asphalt Concrete Crack Sealing

9 05KV P 0012(204) Highway Improvement, Inc. Various Locations in the Watertown Area

Clark, Codington, Hamlin County \$63,338.40

Permanent Signing

10 04XX PH 0010(113)
Hamm Contracting, LLC

Beadle, Grant, Hand, Roberts County \$94,679.80

Various Locations in the Aberdeen Region

Replace Approach Slabs and Approach Paving

05RA NH 0018(207)15 Heavy Constructors, Inc. Fall River County \$475,357.00

US18, 3 miles northeast of Edgemont over Red Canyon Creek

A MOTION WAS MADE by Roby and seconded by Rosenboom to approve items #1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Vanneman to approve item #2 and seconded by Fouberg. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

Larry Nelson joined the meeting at 9:10 a.m.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Roby and seconded by Zander to approve item #6. All present voted aye by roll call vote, except Nelson who did not vote. The motion carried.

With no other business to come before the Commission, the meeting was declared adjourned at 9:17 a.m.