School Finance Accountability Board

Date: Thursday, June 29, 2017-1:00 p.m. CDT

Location: MacKay Building, First Floor, Library Commons

800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501

Public telephonic access: 1-866-410-8397/conference code: 5714727929

Present: Jarod Larson, Member

Mike Lodmel, President

Susan Proefrock, Vice President

Eric Stroeder, Member Patrick Weber, Member

Absent:

DOE staff in attendance: Tamara Darnall, Susan Woodmansey, Bobbi Leiferman, Holly Farris, and Olivia Waggoner

Others in attendance:

Call to Order and Roll Call:

Meeting was called to order by President Lodmel at approximately 1:00 CDT.

Adoption of Agenda:

Motion by Eric Stroeder, seconded by Vice President Proefrock, to adopt the June 29, 2017, proposed agenda. Roll call, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

Approval of Minutes:

Motion to approve the minutes from the June 19, 2017 meeting was made by Vice President Proefrock, seconded by Eric Stroeder. Roll call, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

Public Hearing-Rules: Article 24:44 (School Finance Accountability):

The rules hearing opened at approximately 1:02 p.m. CDT. Tamara Darnall, Director of the Division of Finance and Management at the South Dakota Department of Education, provided a comparison of the March Adopted Rules to the June Revised Rules, as well as provided a flow chart explaining the process outlined in the rules.

Written Public Comment:

None.

School Finance Accountability Board

Proponent testimony:

None.

Opponent testimony:

None.

Board Commentary:

Jarod Larson requested clarification on notification to the districts of financial penalties under 24:44:01:04 and how appeals of board decisions would be sent to the Secretary as noted in 24:44:01:09. Tamara Darnall, Director of the Division of Finance and Management at the South Dakota Department of Education, explained notifications of financial penalties would be given to the school districts via email as well as via the annual financial reporting system. Appeals of board decisions could be sent to the Secretary via mail or email. Tamara noted that the information provided by districts to support the appeal had the possibility of containing large amounts of documentation, and may be more convenient to the school districts to send electronically rather than certified mail. No further discussion was made.

A motion to adopt rules as proposed was made by Eric Larson, and seconded by Patrick Weber. Roll call, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

Meeting Schedule of Calendar year 2017:

President Lodmel discussed meeting dates with the board.

The next meeting date is tentatively scheduled for Thursday, November 16th at 1:00 p.m. CDT.

Adjournment:

Motion to adjourn by Vice President Proefrock, and seconded by Jarod Larson. Roll call, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:21 p.m. CDT.