PROFESSIONAL ADMINISTRATORS PRACTICES & STANDARDS COMMISSION MINUTES

Friday, January 27, 2017 1:30 p.m. CST

- Location: MacKay Building, First Floor, Conference Room 1 800 Governors Drive, Pierre South Dakota
- Present: James "Nick" Gottlob Chairman Darla Mayer - New Member Beverly Rosenboom - Vice Chairman Eric Stroeder - Member Julie Westra - Member
- Absent: Debra Johnson Member Robert Sittig - Member

OthersHolly Farris - Commission CounselPresent:Ferne Haddock - Executive Secretary

Call to Order and Roll call

Chairman Gottlob called the meeting to order at approximately 1:56 p.m. CST. The delayed start time was due to poor travel conditions.

A quorum of the PAPSC membership was present.

Adoption of Agenda

Motion by Westra, second by Stroeder, to adopt the January 27, 2017, agenda.

NAME	AYE	NAY
N. Gottlob	Х	
D Johnson		
D. Mayer	Х	
B. Rosenboom	Х	
R. Sittig		
E. Stroeder	Х	
J. Westra	Х	

Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

Approval of Minutes

Motion by Stroeder, second by Westra, to approve the October 12, 2016, minutes.

NAME AYE NAY

N. Gottlob	Х	
D Johnson		
D. Mayer	Х	
B. Rosenboom	Х	
R. Sittig		
E. Stroeder	Х	
J. Westra	Х	

Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

New Business

Election of officers

Chairman

Rosenboom nominated Gottlob for Chairman.

Motion by Stroeder, second by Mayer, that nominations cease and a unanimous ballot be cast.

NAME	AYE	NAY
N. Gottlob	Х	
D Johnson		
D. Mayer	Х	
B. Rosenboom	Х	
R. Sittig		
E. Stroeder	Х	
J. Westra	Х	

Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

Vice Chairman

Stroeder nominated Rosenboom for Vice Chairman.

Motion by Stroeder, second by Westra, that nominations cease and a unanimous ballot be cast.

NAME	AYE	NAY
N. Gottlob	Х	
D Johnson		
D. Mayer	Х	
B. Rosenboom	Х	
R. Sittig		

E. Stroeder	Х	
J. Westra	Х	

Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

Appoint Executive Secretary

The PAPSC, by unanimous consent appointed Ferne Haddock executive secretary.

Designate Commission Counsel

Motion by Rosenboom, second by Westra, to designate Holly Farris Commission Counsel.

NAME	AYE	NAY
N. Gottlob	Х	
D Johnson		
D. Mayer	Х	
B. Rosenboom	Х	
R. Sittig		
E. Stroeder	Х	
J. Westra	X	

Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

2016 Annual Report

Motion by Westra, second by Stroeder, to accept the 2016 Annual Report, and submit the report to the South Dakota Board of Education.

NAME	AYE	NAY
N. Gottlob	Х	
D Johnson		
D. Mayer	X	
B. Rosenboom	Х	
R. Sittig		
E. Stroeder	Х	
J. Westra	Х	

Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

Motion by Westra, second by Mayer, to go into executive session to discuss legal issues with Commission Counsel.

NAME AYE NAY

N. Gottlob	Х	
D Johnson		
D. Mayer	Х	
B. Rosenboom	Х	
R. Sittig		
E. Stroeder	Х	
J. Westra	Х	

Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

Commission went into executive session at approximately 2:04 p.m. CST.

Chairman Gottlob brought the commission out of executive session at approximately 2:16 p.m. CST.

Hearing

PAPSC 2016-03

Hearing began at approximately 2:17 p.m. CST.

Hearing concluded at approximately 4:40 p.m. CST.

Chairman Gottlob called a recess at approximately 4:41 p.m. CST.

Chairman Gottlob called the meeting to order at approximately 4:45 p.m. CST.

Motion by Westra, second by Stroeder, to go into executive session to discuss legal issues with Commission Counsel.

		NLAX
NAME	AYE	NAY
N. Gottlob	Х	
D Johnson		
D. Mayer	X	
B. Rosenboom	X	
R. Sittig		
E. Stroeder	Х	
J. Westra	Х	

Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

Commission went into executive session at approximately 4:45 p.m. CST.

Chairman Gottlob brought the commission out of executive session at approximately 5:17 p.m. CST.

Motion by Westra, second by Stroeder, that a public reprimand be issued in PAPSC 2016-03; and that the Chair be authorized to execute the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order along with the public reprimand.

NAME	AYE	NAY
N. Gottlob	Х	
D Johnson		
D. Mayer	Х	
B. Rosenboom	Х	
R. Sittig		
E. Stroeder	Х	
J. Westra	Х	

Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

Adjournment

Motion: by Stroeder, second by Mayer, to adjourn.

NAME	AYE	NAY	ABSTAIN	RECUSE
N. Gottlob	Х			
D Johnson				
D. Mayer	X			
B. Rosenboom	Х			
R. Sittig				
E. Stroeder	Х			
J. Westra	Х			

Voice vote, all present voted in favor. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at approximately 5:30 p.m. CST.

Ferne Haddock-Executive Secretary

Date